spicy sesame roasted eggplant and green bean salad

IMG_2429

Top ten things likely to be said on a typical day at Tumbleweed Farm

10. Oh thank god, we didn’t kill the kale

9. Quick, grab Henry before he eats the neighbors chickens

8. Did you check the weather forecast?

7. My back is killing me

6. Will you pop my blood blister?

5. No

4. I’m so hungry I wish these darn plants would grow faster so we could eat them already

3. The F**ing gofers better stay away from our garlic

2. I hope we win the lottery or else this whole farming thing will drowned us.

1. I’m ready for a beer.

Photo1

Don’t get me wrong Taylor and I love farming. Sometimes complaining is the only way to get through the day. That and the promise of a hot meal and an ice cold beer.

Crack open a tall one and dig in!

Spicy Sesame Roasted Eggplant and Green Bean Salad  (serves 2-4)

1 cup cooked brown rice

2 TBS olive oil, divided

1 large eggplant, cubed

1 cup green beans, trimmed

1 bunch of scallions (or half a cup) diced, white and light green parts only

1 bunch of kale, stems removed and torn into bite size pieces

1 cup chickpeas, drained and rinsed

For the Sauce:

2 TBS Tamari

1 garlic clove, minced

1 TBS sesame oil

2 tsp pure maple syrup

1 TBS rice wine vinegar

2 TBS water

1/2 -1 tsp Sriracha Hot sauce (more or less depending on your spice tolerance)

Whisk all ingredients together and set aside.

Meanwhile preheat your oven to 400. Combine eggplant and green beans with 1 TBS olive oil. Place on a prepared baking sheet and roast in the oven for about 20-25 minutes. Turning veggies over once.

While veggies roast heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add the remaining oil. Saute’ the scallions for about 3 minutes. Add the kale and cook for about 3-5 more minutes stirring. Add the chickpeas and turn heat down to low.

Once veggies are done roasting combine them with the kale and chickpeas. Serve over brown rice with a drizzle of the spicy sesame sauce. Enjoy!

IMG_2435

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to spicy sesame roasted eggplant and green bean salad

  1. makingthymeforhealth says:

    That’s funny about Henry and the chickens. I have to keep my dog from eating other dog’s poop but not chickens! This looks like the perfect meal to enjoy with a beer after a long day. Sounds like you need a good back massage too!

  2. chefconnie says:

    Keep up the farming thing…that salad looks fantastic. Think I will grab a beer too.

  3. Joanne says:

    Thoughts of dinner are the only things that get me through work some days so I totally get it!! You guys are rockstars!! And this dinner sounds awesome. I love eggplant that is infused with some Asian flair!

  4. Thoughts of food and beer are definitely what keep me going at work 🙂 At least you get to be outside all day with your adorable dog!

  5. Haha…that was fun to read 🙂 Yum…that salad looks great and very filling. I will try it for sure. Love your salads!

  6. Carrie Link says:

    You know how I love a good Top 10 List, and THIS is a great one!!

Leave a comment