spicy black bean and sweet potato stew

IMG_2399

When you spend all day spreading manure over your fields a hot shower, a glass of wine, and a bowl of spicy soup is only necessary.

IMG_0505

What if I told you that despite the smell and the blood blister forming on my thumb this was the best day I have had in ages. I know I’m dramatic and all and I sometimes say “the best” way too often, but it’s the truth! I love spending time in the dirt with my family.

IMG_0510

Broken backs, blood blisters, and too much country music. I wouldn’t change it for the world.

IMG_0493

IMG_0498

Whatever your plans are for the weekend they should included this lovely soup. Slow down, pour yourself some wine, and savor every bite. Happy Friday everyone!

IMG_2406

Spicy Black Bean and Sweet Potato Stew (serves 4-6)

As always adjust seasonings to taste.

2 TBS olive oil

1 medium-sized yellow onion, diced

1 jalapeรฑo pepper, seeded and diced

1 green bell pepper, seeded and finely chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 medium-sized sweet potato, cut into 1/2 inch cubes

1 TBS ground cumin

1 TBS chili powder

2 tsp dried oregano

2 (15 oz) cans of black beans, drained and rinsed

1 (28 oz) can of crushed tomatoes with their juices

3 cups of veggie stock

salt and pepper to taste

In a large soup pan heat the oil. Add the onion and saute’ for about 5 minutes. Add the peppers, garlic, and sweet potato. Cook for about 3 more minutes. Add the spices. Increase the heat to medium-high and add the beans, tomatoes, and veggie stock. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer and simmer for about 30-40 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Enjoy!

IMG_2402

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to spicy black bean and sweet potato stew

  1. Hope you get a chance to heal your blisters this weekend! I love all the spices and veggies in here – looks fab!

  2. Since becoming a vegetarian one of the foods that I really miss is beef stew. There is just something so comforting about it. Thank you so much for this vegetarian version. I am going to HAVE to make this!

  3. makingthymeforhealth says:

    What is it about black beans and sweet potatoes that are just so right together?
    Golly, you make the most amazing food. I could easily come spend a week at your place. But Henry would have to sleep with me, that would be okay right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. what a sweet post- isn’t it so nice to have a blog so you can remember this day during the times when you may not be feeling so good?

  5. I love your site. I know I’ve said it before, but I love coming here for a dose of farm life and a dose of delicious homemade recipes. It’s beautiful. Keep it up ๐Ÿ™‚
    And yes, every day that involves farming is the best day ever. It’s a secret that only we know. It’s the secret to living the good life. But don’t tell people who wear suits and work in tall buildings.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Yes for blooding blisters proof of hard honest work! Yes for slowing down! Yes for wine! Yes for this stew!

  7. Beth says:

    Thanks for the fine recipe, Andrea.
    Here’s a question about those two shovels, one square-shaped, the other spade-like.
    What’s the difference between the two? I know they’re shaped differently – but what is the purpose for those two different shapes?
    Thanks – and a happy holiday to you, to your good husband, and to The Good Henry.

    • abemis11 says:

      Hey Beth,
      We bought these shovels at a garage sale. The only difference was the price. The short one was a dollar cheaper. They both dig up the dirt pretty much the same. I wish there was a more exciting answer but that’s all I’ve got!

  8. Joanne says:

    I would definitely need a HUGE bowl of this soup after a day like yours! So delicious and nutritious!

  9. Julia says:

    Coooooooooooome to meeeeeeeeeeeee!

Leave a Reply

