roasted green beans and peppers with soy-sesame vinaigrette

IMG_2225

“I’m gonna live, where the green grass grows.Watchin’ my corn pop up in rows. Every night I’ll be tucked in close to you. Raise our kids where the good lord’s blessed. Point our rocking chairs towards the west. Plant our seeds where the peaceful river flows. Where the green grass grows.” Tim McGraw

Don’t judge us. We love country music. It wasn’t until we became farmers that we really developed an appreciation for it. It always seems to lift our spirits and sets a nice tone for the day. We used to be closet country listeners because we were worried we would lose friends over this matter. But now we are totally out of the closet. Our friends still love us and we blast our country music with pride.

IMG_0424

Today we drove up to the farm singing along to some of our favorite tunes. We lucked out with a wind free day and were able to finally get the lid on our greenhouse.

IMG_0425

All that’s missing is a few doors and tables. Other than that it’s pretty much done. I think our seedling will be very happy up there.

IMG_0422

Once we finished the greenhouse we tended to the garlic patch. Nobody hates weeds more than farmers (or garlic for that matter).

IMG_0421

Everybody pitched in.

IMG_0420

A day spent in the dirt with my family is pretty much heaven on earth. My back may be sore, and I may have hit my thumb with a hammer, but there really is no better way to spend my time.

IMG_0416

We came home, cracked open a few beers (to cure our sore muscles of course) and watched our seedlings continue to grow.

IMG_0428

We also enjoyed this really delicious and easy dinner.

IMG_2237

Roasted Green Beans and Peppers with Soy-Sesame Vinaigrette (serves 4)

For the beans and peppers

1 lb green beans, trimmed

1 large red bell pepper, sliced into 1 inch pieces

1 cup cooked brown rice

1 tbs olive oil

salt and pepper

Directions:

Cook rice according to package directions.

Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 450. Combine the beans and pepper with 1 tbs olive oil. Roast in the oven for about 15 minutes turning veggies once halfway through. Veggies are done once they are lightly browned and slightly crisp.

For the Vinaigrette

3 TBS reduced sodium soy sauce (or tamari)

1 TBS Mirin (rice cooking wine)

1 TBS rice wine vinegar

1 TBS tahini

1 tsp dark sesame oil

1 TBS grapeseed oil (or another neutral flavored oil like canola oil)

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp fresh ginger, minced

dash of red pepper flakes

With an immersion blender or regular blender mix all the ingredients together. Taste test and season as necessary.

Once veggies are done remove them from the oven. Combine veggies with rice and drizzle on dressing. Enjoy hot!

IMG_2240

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to roasted green beans and peppers with soy-sesame vinaigrette

  1. Yum, I love roasted green beans! I also really want your dog, he (or she?) is adorable!

  2. haha so glad you can be open with your country loving hearts! 🙂

  3. You seem to be super amazing at pulling together vinaigrettes– this one sounds super tasty! (like all of the others you’ve posted:))

  4. girlversusdough says:

    Mmm, this dinner sounds DELISH. Love that vinaigrette! 🙂

  5. Mmmm this vinaigrette is everything I love. And I’m super jealous of your delicious Oregon beers. We can’t get those in Utah!

  6. Sounds delish – such a sweet family photo in the greenhouse!

  7. You are seriously living the dream! I love NYC, but one day I’d love to at least have a little garden (and a big dog)!

  8. I love roasting green beans, but I never never what to pair them with other than to just eat them as a side dish. Thanks for this great recipe :).

  9. Shannon Geddes-Keene says:

    I love the pic of you guys in the greenhouse doorway! Perfect for your Christmas card this year! xoxo

  10. makingthymeforhealth says:

    I was just thinking of roasted green beans, it’s like you read my mind. This sounds great- especially with a beer after a long day at work. I was going to say Happy Friday but do you even take weekends off? Haha, that reminds me of the farmers dating service, have you seen that?

    • drealieberg says:

      Oh lady, I wish we could take the weekends off. Unfortunately, the plants don’t take a day off! At least there is such a thing as beer!

  11. I LOVE Country music too! Zero judgement! PS this meal looks aaaaaaaamazing!

  12. Love all these pictures of you two and Henry smiling at the farm and I find it so positively funny the way you write about your appreciation for country music :). Mix of roasted green beans and red peppers with a drizzle of soy- sesame vinaigrette sounds amazing. I am always into simple dishes.

  13. Beth says:

    Everything looks beautiful, Andrea – Esp your fam!ily portrait in the greenhouse-becoming-a-greenhouse. But I’m confused; didn’t you say that you had some sort of building on your land where you were propagating seeds? Of was that in your back yard? Thanks

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks beth. We feel pretty good about things so far. We have a small propagation house in our yard. It’s temporary though. We will start seeding everything in the main greenhouse next week!

  14. Julie says:

    Andrea,
    I am a new follower of your blog, entering in from your Rise and Shine smoothie recipe through Barre3. I commented a couple of weeks ago. I am involved with my church in building an on-site Community Garden, and today, I just “graduated” from the Growing Groceries Community Gardening Mentoring program here Vancouver, WA, associated with WSU extension. Your recipes are so delectable and so healthy, which is one of our goals for our community garden project, along with the building of healthy communities. I am wondering if we could have permission from you to print up a few of your recipes to hand out to our gardeners as they sign up for plots or near harvest time this summer/fall. We really want to encourage and motivate new gardeners to grow a variety of vegetables, use them in interesting ways, and promote nutritious eating with their families. We are building our beds in a couple of weeks and signing up gardeners at the end of April, with hopes of planting in early May.
    Either way, I’ll continue to enjoy your recipes. I can’t wait to try that chocolate sunbutter green smoothie.

  15. I just had some green beans this week and reminded myself how good they are. Yours look so good!

  16. I love the sounds of that vinaigrette! PS. I totally laughed out loud at your comment about coming out of the closet as a country music lover.

  17. This sounds like a flavorful and fresh dish! The vinaigrette sounds really good.

  18. Patti says:

    This is delish! We are suffering from “delayed Spring syndrome” here in the Midwest and this dish is so tasty and healthy!

  19. When I read your posts I feel I want to be a farmer… the idea of being susteinable is amazing. Lovely dish, the vinaigrette sounds just perfect!

Leave a Reply

