a good farm dog

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am feeling a little under the weather so there will not be a recipe today. I guess my trip to the “big city” really did me in. City driving, thousands of people, and complete chaos. Also, I don’t think the city folks appreciate country music like we do. I’m not sure blasting it from my car radio was the best idea. (Or singing at the top of my lungs for that matter) ย  I think I am suffering from over-stimulation. My brain is shot!

The good news is that I have Henry by my side to keep me company while I try to nurse my headache. I figured this was a good opportunity to show you all what Henry really is made of. He is a great farm dog and has been through hell and back with us. When the days are hot and long Henry is there to keep our spirits up. Just look at that smile!

IMG_0135

Harvesting apples in 100 degree heat? No biggie for Henry!

dscn0723

Picking corn in July is a lot more fun when Henry is around.

Photo1

Henry and Taylor are a great team when seeding beets together. Henry walks behind the tractor to make sure everything goes into the ground correctly.

IMG_0134Climbing the apple orchard ladder to pick the ripest apples? Absolutely!

dscn0515

Patientlyย waiting to eat a couple of bell peppers.

Photo1

A truck full of straw? Henry couldn’t wait to help us mulch the garlic patch!

p7100031

He loves fresh onions almost as much as we do!

Photo1

Sometimes it is totally necessary to take a breather in the eggplant patch.

IMG_0248

And of course, when the weather gets cold on the farm there is nothing better than a shot of whiskey and cuddling up outside to watch the sunset over our crops.

I love my dog!

IMG_0085

If you have a dog at home give them an extra pat from Henry tonight.

Back with a dinner recipe I think you will all enjoy tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to a good farm dog

  1. Henry looks like just about the happiest dog ever! I love how much he smiles. We’re hoping to get a dog this spring or summer! She’ll hopefully help us out in the gardens.

    Feel better! Cities always wipe me out too.

    • drealieberg says:

      You guys should definitely get a dog! We got Henry from Adopt a Lab. They are a great dog rescue and we could not be happier with Henry!

  2. Judy Brummond says:

    Henry: A recipe for Happiness!

  3. Dogs are the best. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Carrie Link says:

    Will do! Flicka will appreciate it!!! I hate being over-stimulated! Time to get in front of Netflix and finish “Parenthood.” If you’re done, let me know, I have a whole list of must-see series that are sure to cure over-stimulation!

    Love,
    Aunt Carrie

  5. Aww, what a sweet baby! It looks like he loves farm life!

    Feel better soon :).

  6. He has truly found a dog heaven right here on earth!

  7. makingthymeforhealth says:

    Sweet post! He’s such a beautiful dog. How old is he?

    • drealieberg says:

      We are not totally sure (he is a rescue) and the vet guessed that he was about 2 when we got him. That would make him 4 now. He’s the best!

  8. Oh my gosh, he looks like he has a huge smile on his face in every picture! That must be one happy dog ๐Ÿ™‚ Too cute!

  9. What a sweet sweet face and a great helper. Your crops look amazing btw. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Such a happy dog and a great helper!

  11. Ceci says:

    Nothing wrong with a little country music – and a yohoo rolling on the floor board! Henry is a BEAUTIFUL dog!!

  12. I am severely dog deprived – I need a big dog in my life! It’s just too hard to do it in my 600-sq. ft. apartment, sadly. I only hope that I can one day have a wonderful dog like Henry!

  13. Sue says:

    Completely understand what you mean about Henry…

  14. Joanne says:

    Aww henry is too adorable! And he sounds like the perfect companion.

  15. Sophie33 says:

    He is a really cool & fun dog! He is lucky to have you 2 & you are lucky to have him! ๐Ÿ™‚
    A lovely ode to him too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. He is adorable! Just by looking at the pictures o him makes me smile so I can imagine what joy he brings to your life. You can tell Henry is a happy farm dog :).

  17. Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well! Henry looks like just about the happiest dog ever. Love these pictures of him – especially the one in the corn! What a cutie.

  18. Beth says:

    Henry is a champ! What a happy guy, and how beautiful that he makes you & Taylor so happy. Best part of the story: Henry is a rescue dog! You and Taylor gave him a happy new life, and he returns the favor. Great for everybody. Henry is a wonderful example of the importance of getting a dog through a rescue network, rather than from a breeder. Bravo to you all!

    • drealieberg says:

      Thank you for your wonderful comment Beth! It breaks my heart to know that somebody out there abused Henry when he was a puppy. But, the universe knew that the three of us belonged together. It’s amazing what can happen when you give your heart to a dog. They will love you forever!

  19. Sarah says:

    What a sweet boy! Henry is breaking down my “just say no” approach to daily puppy requests around here.

  20. Henry is adorable! ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Awwwwwww. Reading this post made me really want a dog. Like, really realllllly badly. I have a cat, Gabel, and I love him very much. But there’s just something about the loyalty of a doggie…

  22. Karen says:

    Your Henry looks like our Cedar. He was a “drop off” dog. He had been wandering for weeks until he came into our backyard and I told him to “go home!”. He turned around with a big smile on his face and has stayed. lol Cedar is happy when he’s running around discovering all the scents on the ground, up the trees, but he’s the happiest when he has just taken a dip in the creek..and then another one…and just another one for good measure. I chuckled in the pictures of Henry where he looks like he also had taken dips in some water.

Leave a Reply

