tamari ginger vegetable quinoa bowls

IMG_1961

Watch out world. Look who has decided to pop up and say hello.

Photo1

The sleepless nights, dark circles under our eyes, and uncontrollable meltdowns (okay, I’m the only one having the meltdowns Taylor keeps it together) have been worth it. Our onions and leeks are germinating and looking good.

It is a tiny victory but we feel very proud. One of the first things I did was text my farm friend Ellen (she worked at Hutchins Farm with us) to show her a photo of our progress. Ellen and I have seeded thousands of plants in the greenhouse together and have had many “oh thank god” moments when things finally germinate.

Photo1

There we are harvesting our goods! Hard work in the greenhouse pays off in the fields. That’s for sure! Ellen and I have seen each other through a lot. When you work on a farm you go through hell and back on a daily basis. (sometimes hourly basis) We have survived snow storms in October, heat waves in July, broken backs, broken hamstrings, broken sprits, and of course never ending work. But it really is worth it. And when I am feeling doubtful about our decision to become farmers I have to remind myself of how good it feels to have these little successes.  Our seedlings have me glowing!

IMG_1958

This meal was inspired by Ellen. She gave me a recipe for a tamari ginger sauce that is out of this world. I make it all of the time and felt inspired to make it last night in celebration of our onions.

IMG_1962

Warning: This sauce is addictive and you may end up eating it with a spoon. Be careful!

Tamari Ginger Vegetable Quinoa Bowls (seves 2-4)

2 tbs olive oil, divided

2 large carrots, chopped into 1 inch long pieces

1 small head of broccoli, chopped into florets

1 small head cauliflower, chopped into florets

1 large yellow onion, diced

2 cups of mixed mushrooms

1 cup of chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 cup cooked quinoa

salt and pepper to taste

For the sauce:

1/2 cup tamari

1/2 cup water

1 tbs rice wine vinegar

1 tbs grated ginger (or more)

1 clove garlic, crushed (or more)

1/2 cup minced scallions

2 tsp sesame oil (or a little more)

1/4 cup tahini

2 tsp sugar or maple syrup

With an immersion blender or whisk, mix all ingredients together and set aside.

Preheat the oven to 400. Mix the carrots, broccoli and cauliflower in a bowl with 1 tbs olive oil and a sprinkle of salt and pepper. On a prepared baking sheet roast the veggies until they are tender. About 20 minutes. Turning once during the cooking process.

Meanwhile cook your quinoa according to package directions.

In a large skillet heat the remaining 1 TBS of oil over medium heat. Add the onion. Saute’ for about 8 minutes. Add the mushrooms and continue to cook for about 8 more minutes stirring every once in a while. Add the chickpeas. Mix to combine. Turn heat down to low.

Once the veggies are done roasting mix them with the onions and mushrooms.  Combine everything with the quinoa and drizzle the sauce over everything. You may have sauce leftover. It keeps in the fridge for up to 1 week.  Enjoy!

IMG_1961

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to tamari ginger vegetable quinoa bowls

  1. Can not wait till we can see photos of this years crop (I know a little early to be thinking about but that is the truth!)

  2. Oh my goodness, that sauce! congrats on your little plants, love reading the updates : ) I need to start looking into my small garden soon as well!

  3. E says:

    I couldn’t be more proud!

  4. Charlotte says:

    WOOOHOOOOOOO!!!! Real plants! Real FOOD!

    Also, that tamari ginger sauce sounds killer. Mmmmm.

  5. Congrats on the onions!! So exciting! And this looks delicious. I make something similar with peanut butter instead of the tahini, and am often caught slurping the leftovers 🙂 I’ll have to try it with tahini!

  6. Hurray, everything is going in the right direction!!! You look cute in these over-sized overalls 🙂 This vegetable quinua dish sounds great and I can’t wait to try it with that addictive sauce!

  7. kendraalleen says:

    holy moly this sounds delicious! i. must. make!

  8. makingthymeforhealth says:

    Congrats on your germinating onions! I’m not sure what tamari tastes like but this makes me want to try some!

  9. Something about when little plants first sprout up is SO adorable. That sauce sounds amazing and I love me a big bowl of veggies!

  10. Your little seedlings are adorable! Now get some sleep, emotional outbreaks won’t do anyone – especially a farmer 😉 – any good! 🙂

  11. What a fantastic meal. I need to get some tips off you I think! All I want to do it keep the herbs that I buy from the garden centre alive. I have a black thumb 😦 I am so impressed with your skills!

  12. So looking forward to trying this…especially the sauce! 🙂

  13. Sophie33 says:

    Congrats with the seedlings that are growing & growing! Yeah! Your pics are lovely & that dinner sounds so good to me! Thanks for sharing with us!

  14. Every so often I get on huge quinoa salad kicks, where I will eat it, happily, three times a day…and you may have just started another one!

  15. Liz says:

    I just made this tonight and you were NOT joking about that sauce! It was all I could do not to drink it right from the bowl. Delicious. I love all of your recipes and following along with your growing season!

    • drealieberg says:

      I’m so glad you liked it Liz! It really does take will power not to drink it! Thanks for following along!

Leave a Reply

