a perfectly healthy salad

Let’s start this weekend off on the right foot shall we?

Photo1

First up, cuddling for an extra 10 minutes while the coffee brewed this morning. Henry is great at that.

Photo1

Second up, singing at the top of our lungs while drinking our coffee. Sometimes we blast country music (yep, we listen to country) really loud and dance around just to get pumped up for the day. We are major dorks.

Third up, making this delicious and simple salad. I have been eating this everyday for lunch for the past week. It’s so stinking tasty and healthy I can’t stand it!

I normally don’t post salad recipes on here because I feel like they aren’t blog worthy. But the thing is I LOVE salad. It’s so diverse and you can literally top it with anything. We eat it all the time.

Random fact, lettuce is my absolute favorite thing to grow. From seed to harvest I love the whole process. Even weeding the darn stuff. I can’t get enough!img_1966

I hope our lettuce grows as strong and beautiful as it did at Hutchins Farm. Look at that lettuce head?! It’s almost as big as my head! That’s what we are striving for this season. ย Lettuce as big as human heads. Fingers crossed!

IMG_1969

Lastly, we are going to spend a lot of this weekend weeding our garlic and doing random things up at Tumbleweed Farm. And of course we are still babying our onion seedlings. The temperature in the greenhouse has been regulated but we are still super paranoid and not sleeping at night.

Photo1However, this salad is the bright spot in our day. It’s loaded with avocado, sprouts, radishes, bean sprouts, tomatoes, and a poached egg. Drizzled with a balsamic dressing. Easy, filling, and delicious!

If you are in a salad rut I definitely recommend this concoction. Add whatever you’d like, but the poached egg is a must!

Happy Friday everyone, I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to a perfectly healthy salad

  1. I love salads and think they’re totally blog worthy. I always end up with really boring salads at home because I lack salad creativity and they tend to always be an afterthought or last minute meal to me. Your salad looks super tasty, I’ll have to try a poached egg on top!

  2. olivesanwine says:

    This salad makes me wish that it was summer, like yesterday!! I can’t wait for fresh produce at my farmers market ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’m a salad person and while I was reading your recipe I was thinking “no biggie, I will make it without egg” (allergy!) and then at the end of the post you wrote “…but the poached egg is a must!” lol… and I get you, undeniably, that poached egg does make that salad really special even by just simply looking at it…so in the meantime I am going to feed my eyes… but still, I’ll have to make it without egg sometime because I love that veggie blend. The picture of Henry is adorable! Oh, and your salad recipes are totally blog worthy!!!

  4. Sarah says:

    A friend discovered my country cd collection last week. He freaked. I’m not ashamed.

  5. makingthymeforhealth says:

    I love that pic of Henry, so sweet! Your not dorks either, that’s a great way to start the day.

  6. Yum!! That looks so delicious! I love a good salad. And what an awesome picture of your dog! Loved your anecdote about the coffee singing, sounds like a great tradition!

  7. That dos look healthy! Puppies are the best for weekend snuggles ๐Ÿ™‚ They would do it all day!

  8. I am so jealous of your head of lettuce! I can’t wait until it gets to be gardening season around here. That salad looks awesome and definitely blog-worthy!

  9. Aimee @ ShugarySweets says:

    MMMM I love a good healthy salad (but I like to follow it with a cupcake ๐Ÿ™‚ That fresh lettuce looks gorgeous!!!

  10. liz says:

    Hey my book group was served your curried squash and peanut soup last night. Many a lady had a second helping. Some even spooned it over the rice that was served with our fish. Yum! And better still our hostess gave you credit!

  11. beth says:

    Agree that your salads are def blog-worthy, Andrea.
    And to Anna@ApronHearts re egg allergy: How about topping your salad with some broiled tofu instead of a poached egg? Maybe drizzled with some EVOO?
    Would that provide a similar flavor, protein hit and mouth feel? Just an idea.

  12. beth says:

    BTW, love the latest photo of Henry!
    Has he met any eligible ladies since he moved to the Northwest?

  13. Sophie33 says:

    This is such a lovely & healthy salad! I love poached eggs but rarely make them at home! I must change that! Yummy! Good lcuk with it all!

  14. Amy Jo - Pure and Simple says:

    That salad IS blog worthy..and so is that egg that is sitting on top of it!

  15. Joanne says:

    I only like salads when they’re filled with a lot of fun mix-ins…and this certainly fits the bill!! Yum!

  16. Mmmm I love eggs with warm and gooey centers, I’ve never had a salad topped with one but it is an EXCELLENT idea!

    And my God woman, that lettuce is enormous! I hope yours get that big again this year too ๐Ÿ™‚ They look so happy and healthy! I have some in my yard, but they’re in a partially shaded area so they’re pretty average-sized. But still tasty for sandwiches and salads ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. I don’t think I’ve ever thought to top a salad with a poached egg .. It seems weird but wonderful at the same time!

  18. Poached eggs as a topper seem to make EVERYTHING better. Yum!

  19. Food blogs are about ideas also, and that in a salad is the way to go. The egg on top makes whatever is below it wonderful! I love how passionate you are about the whole farming process, and Henryยดs face is just the thing to wake you in the morning!

  20. This salad sounds wonderful, and is a great reminder that spring is coming and it’s time to get creative with salad again!

  21. jlaceda says:

    Another awesome salad? Yes, please! Love the poached egg on top – makes it a hearty fare indeed.

  22. Terry says:

    Your salad looks great but the poached egg is perfect! How did you do it? Can’t wait to see your farm…

Leave a Reply

