lets grow some food!

Our alarm clock went off bright and early this morning. My lovely husband turned to me with sleepy eyes and said ” Are you ready to grow some food?”

“Yep.”

Armed with a 50 lb bag of potting soil, high spirits, and 5 cups of coffee in our systems things began to get real.

Photo1

Growing food is a crazy good thing. We seeded over 2 thousand onions, 250 shallots, and 500 leeks. In the next couple of weeks we are going to add a lot more to that list. Lots of leafy greens are around the corner. ย Let the sleepless nights begin!

Photo1

Since we don’t live up at the farm (yet) we have decided to start seeding at our house. We built a small greenhouse in our yard and we will transfer the seedlings to our bigger greenhouse up at Tumbleweed in the next few weeks.

I can’t tell you how GOOD it feels to get our hands dirty again. I miss dirt under my fingernails and it has officially returned!

Photo1

Our newest obsession is checking the temperature of the greenhouse every 5 minutes. There goes our social life!!!!

Photo1

After our onions were seeded we said a silent prayer. Fingers and toes have never been crossed so hard!

Photo1

Obviously you can’t seed your first crop of the season without a little bubbly.

Photo1

Photo1

Photo1

Cheers to another farm season and hopefully a fruitful one!

Photo1

Eggplant falafel stacks are on the menu for tonight. Check out the recipe here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to lets grow some food!

  1. looks like a great meal! I’d love to see a “day in the life” post! you two work so hard!

  2. I only ever plant a small garden, but I love it!! Can’t wait to get started this year.

  3. poolejenn says:

    This is my first time finding your lovely blog, and I was pretty convinced when I clicked on it that it was titled “A Farmer in the Deli”, which I found a pretty intriguing concept. (Clearly my eyes are pretty fatigued at the end of the day). Then I scrolled around and realized I’d been mistaken–but there’s no disappointment here! As a New Yorker, it’s pretty cool to see someone with such a vastly different lifestyle. Love your fresh approach to cooking and growing food!

  4. Best of luck to you and this growing season! I love that you celebrated the start of the season with champagne in mason jars, in broad daylight ๐Ÿ™‚ My kinda celebration!

  5. Congrats on finally putting some seeds in soil!! I also love the bubbly in mason jars. (P.S. You got me hooked on Parenthood. So good)

  6. bakerbynature says:

    Send some leeks this way, please ๐Ÿ˜‰ Looks like y’all know how to make farming fun!

  7. Missy says:

    SO excited.

  8. Julia says:

    Look at you two lovebirds, getting all your ducks in a row! I love how prepared you already are for growing season. 500 LEEKS! Holy mackerel, you guys are going to be feeding looooots of mouths!! And your Proseco, waiting so proudly on soil…what a glorious day!

  9. girlversusdough says:

    Yay for growing food! Also yay for those eggplant stacks… and yum ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Kim says:

    hey Andrea, this is Kim, Steph’s sister… just wanted to let you know I recently started following your blog. We’ve tried a couple of the smoothie recipes and they were fantastic (and got me out of my orange-banana-ice-kale-sorrel smoothie rut. It makes for a good smoothie, too, but nobody likes a rut!). I love the recipes and love hearing about growing things. So excited for you guys for this first season on your own place! Wishing you lots of love and luck and fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Vanessa says:

    Andrea! I also love the bubbly in jam jars. Iยดll have to send you some photos of the farmers market here in Zamora! I love my roast leek soup from my farmers! Miss you ๐Ÿ™‚

    • drealieberg says:

      Miss you Vaness!!! Can’t wait to get you out to the farm one of these days. I wish I could jet off to Spain sometime soon. We’ll see!!!

  12. Joanne says:

    I’m so excited for you guys and can’t wait to follow along during all this growth!!!

  13. Ha, love the mason jars. So classy ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m glad you have so much fun in the dirt! When I go to plant my garden this year (which 90% of inexplicably died last year, because I’m just that good), I’ll try to have half as much fun as you!

  14. Congrats! Can’t wait to follow the journey of your first season!

  15. Cheers to the new season!!!

  16. Best. Wine glasses. Ever. Congratulations! Sending lots of positive vibes your way!

  17. Early today we just started planning our (very very small) garden for this summer. I’m so excited about it! We had a small garden last year too and it is such fun to have a little project that actually gives back. I’m amazed by the amount you guys plant! That is a for-real farm! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Best of luck! I am going to try my hand at a few vegetables this year, but I’m sure yours will turn out much better ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Yay yay yay! So exciting! I love posts like these (and your recipes too, of course), and knowing you two are hands-in-the-dirt farming away. I’m super jealous that we’d have to wait a lot longer before seeding around here.

    Looking forward to more updates. Good luck!

  20. ohsweetbasil says:

    I don’t know that there’s anything better than home grown food. Come plant our garden! Ours only went so so last year

  21. Your journey has been so inspirational – way to get your hands dirty and grow that food! I can’t wait to see what it all looks like as the weather warms up. Pour me a glass, too! ๐Ÿ˜›

  22. amy leclerc says:

    It’s ON!

  23. I can not wait to see the progress! And sooooomeday, you should totally grow hops.

  24. Girl, you rock!!! I love to read about your adventures on the farm and I wish I was a farmer like you. Good luck on your new farming season!!! I don’t have Prosecco right now but I will drink my glass of Chardonnay to the fruitful crops on your farm :). Cheers!!!

  25. Woohoo for growing things! I can’t wait until I can start planting my garden, it’s in the pre-planning stages still. I like to try something new every year in addition to the tried and true ones. That falafel dinner looks fab as well.

  26. Exciting! Planting feels so far away, as we barely got above 0* today; thanks for the glimpse of spring!

  27. Sophie33 says:

    Yeah! I also started to seed my new veggies to be: radishes, lettuces, green courgettes, yellow courgettes, pumpkins too! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love your bubbly here too! Good luck with it all! That recipe is a winner too!

  28. I love hearing about your farming ๐Ÿ™‚ did you grow that wine all by yourself ? ๐Ÿ˜› Hehe I love the falafel stack. You are making me feel a little guilty about not cooking the last few nights…

Leave a Reply

