preparing for wine country

I had to pull out the big guns and make myself a healthy smoothie to start the day off on the right foot. Taylor and I are headed out for a day of wine tasting and I figured that something healthy was only appropriate.

Photo1

We had grand plans to head up to Walla Wall Washington for two days of wine tasting to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary. Unfortunately, we had to bag that idea because we have WAY too much farm work to get done. Β The good news is that we live in a beautiful valley that has a ton of local wineries. We are going to keep it in the neighborhood for this one.

Whatever your plans are for the day, you should definitely include this lovely smoothie. It tastes like a milkshake but is loaded with good for you ingredients. I slurped this puppy down so fast I almost made myself a second one.

Almond Milk, Date, and Cinnamon smoothie:

1 ripe banana

3-4 dates, pits removed and diced

1 tbs pure maple syrup

1 tbs almond butter

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tbs flax seeds

1 cup almond milk

a handful of ice cubes

Blend everything together and enjoy!

Off to enjoy some local wine. Have a wonderful Thursday everyone.

IMG_0274

Cheers!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to preparing for wine country

  1. Kristin says:

    Happy anniversary! Hope you guys have a great day of local wines!

    Do you have any suggestions for blending the dates? I love the flavor of them in my smoothies, but I’ve had trouble getting them to blend well – they often don’t get chopped up enough, and then float down to the bottom of my glass in a sticky mess. Any suggestions?

  2. Happy anniversary! We did some wine tasting in the Willamette this fall and fell in LOVE with Oregon wines. Super jealous that you can taste good wine so close to home! Walla Walla is on our list too, for sure πŸ™‚ Also, I’m going to have to make this smoothie!

  3. Happy Anniversary! I love wine tastings and wish I lived closer to more wineries (Wisconsin= not condusive to long grape growing season), so drink more for me!

  4. Happy Anniversary! What a wonderful way to celebrate πŸ™‚

  5. I am such a smoothie junkie and this one looks delicious!!!! Happy Anniversary…hope you guys enjoyed the day over some great wine.

  6. Gela says:

    Making this right now. Yummmm! Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

  7. bakerbynature says:

    Happy Anniversary, darling! Hope you’re having a blast.

  8. Oh that smoothie sounds heavenly! Happy Anniversary, enjoy the wine and time away from the farm.

  9. Julia says:

    Yaaay! You love birds have an awesome time in wine country!! I’ll be thinking of you as I enjoy a glass of wine this weekend! Where did you get your pretty scarf? It looks so cozy! I’d love to enjoy a nice date smoothie wearing a comfy scarf like that πŸ™‚

  10. Gourmantine says:

    Wow, the smoothie looks great, I usually stick to fruit and milk only, but I’m intrigued to try this one.

  11. Monet says:

    What a great way to start an even better day! I would love to do something like this (once I don’t have our little one in my stomach!) Thank you for sharing…and for your kind and generous words. I hope you have a beautiful weekend with good food and friends.

  12. amy leclerc says:

    I just made this and it is delish! Like starting my day with a milkshake-yummy. I added chia seeds to kick it up a notch.

  13. I really love the sound of this smoothie, so healthy and delicious! I’ve never used dates in my smoothies, but I’ll definitely have to give them a try! πŸ™‚

  14. This looks awesome and so healthy! Happy Anniversary πŸ™‚

  15. gosh I have been so sick this weekend, and am now closing out this flu bug with a nasty sore throat. I want this smoothie in my mouth right now.

  16. Sophie33 says:

    I love making my own plant-based milks & your smoothy looks divine!

Leave a Reply

