stuffed eggplant with spicy peanut sauce

IMG_1610I really should hate eggplant.

She (eggplant is a woman you know) has never been on my side while I’m giving it my all in the fields. My memories of picking eggplant go a little something like this:

100 degree days; 4 hours in the same backbreaking position; sunblock melting off my forehead into my eyes; temporary blindness; getting pricked by the thorns on the calyx; and blood. There’s always some blood.

Photo1But the truth is, I can’t hate eggplant. Look at these beauties. Not only are they one of the most gorgeous vegetables, but they really are one of my favorites to cook up. I can’t get enough.

IMG_1611These roasted eggplants are stuffed with rice, mushrooms, onions, and green beans. They would taste awesome left just like that, but the spicy peanut sauce that I mixed in is what made this dish really POP.

Vegetable Stuffed Roasted Eggplant With Spicy Peanut Sauce (serves 2)

For the Eggplant:

1-2 tbs olive oil (divided)

1 large eggplant

1 cup cooked brown rice

1 cup  string beans,

2 heaping cups of mushrooms, finely chopped

1 large yellow onion, diced

For the Peanut Sauce:

2 tbs peanut butter

1/3 cup of water

1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes (more or less depending on how spicy you like it)

1 tbs honey

1 tsp ginger, minced

1 clove of garlic, minced

2 tbs tamari sauce (or soy sauce)

Directions:

With an immersion blender or whisk, mix the sauce ingredients together and set aside.

Preheat the oven to 400.

Cook rice according to package directions.

Slice the eggplant in half lengthwise. With a spoon remove pulp leaving 1/4 inch rim.  Dice pulp up and set aside.

Lightly salt the eggplant halves and place them cut side down on a paper towel for about 20 minutes. This will help get rid of the moisture. Then lightly drizzle olive oil over each half and place cut side down on an oiled baking sheet and roast in the oven for 20-30 minutes. Checking halfway to make sure it isn’t burning.

Meanwhile cook your veggies.

In a large skillet heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion. Saute’ for about 5 minutes. Add the mushrooms, eggplant pulp, and green beans. Cook for about 8 more minutes stirring often. Turn the heat down to low and mix in the cooked rice. Drizzle sauce over rice mixture (reserving some for drizzling on top of eggplant) and mix well.

When eggplant is cooked remove from oven.  Scoop a healthy portion of the rice and veggie mixture into each half. Drizzle with more sauce and enjoy!

IMG_1610

This dish tasted extra good with a glass of my favorite house wine. You all should do the same.

If you are an eggplant lover like me you should check out my other eggplant recipes from the summer!

Photo1

Grilled eggplant stacks with pesto, tomato, mozzarella, and balsamic

Photo1

Eggplant Falafel Stacks With Lemon Tahini Dressing

Photo1Falafel stuffed eggplant with tahini and tomato relish

I may hate picking eggplant, but I sure as heck love eating it. I hope you all do too! Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to stuffed eggplant with spicy peanut sauce

  1. Beautiful post. I’ve recently fallen in love with eggplant and I’ve been looking for recipes for ages that do NOT include eggplant parm on the list. Thanks for sharing such unique and tasty variations of this typically forgotten vegetable 🙂 I’m excited to try some of these!

  2. Hey Andrea – I’ve had a hard time getting behind eggplant, but you’ve convinced me to give it another go. The peanut sauce looks like a winner as well. Thanks for sharing!

    • drealieberg says:

      I hope you do try it!! I feel like roasting eggplant is a good “gateway.” Let me know how it goes! also, the sauce is AMAZING! I had a hard time not drinking it!

  3. Kristin says:

    This looks delicious! I can’t wait to try it.

  4. I don`t know why I`ve never thought of stuffed eggplant before, this looks amazing – I know I`ll love anything that`s covered in peanut sauce! Also I don`t know how I haven`t checked out your blog earlier – I love every single recipe I`ve seen so far!

  5. Julia says:

    Holy truck full of eggplant! I’d love to have buckets of freshly picked eggplant hanging around! All of your eggplant dishes look fabulous…I’m pinning them to try next time I pick up some egpplant!

  6. So many tasty eggplant recipes! I’m definitely going to have to save these for the summer, especially this one with the spicy peanut sauce. Eggplant is one of the few things that I’m able to grow really well. Almost too well, maybe–I always have so much of it, I don’t know what to do with it all! 🙂

  7. Anything with peanut sauce is usually okay with me. 😉 Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

