cashew “cream” a love story

IMG_1312

I don’t know if you all remember, but a while back one of my best friends called me with dreadful news.  Her doctor was having her remove dairy from her diet.  We both cried over her loss. Our weekly wine and cheese date would need some modifying STAT. (In case you wondering, wine and cheese tastes best when enjoyed with good friends). Her diagnosis felt like a huge blow to me as well! How were we going to tackle this? It felt like the world was ending.

Unfortunately, for my dear friend, I moved 3000 miles away before I discovered this  cheesy, creamy, dairy free alternative to all the things we love.

dscn0402

Look at those smiles….This photo was clearly taken before the awful news!

Cashew cream can be added to pasta sauces, soups, pizzas, or any recipe you would use cream in.  It’s mild in flavor but can be kicked up a notch just by adding a few spices and herbs. I am also known for eating it by the spoonful. I can’t help myself.

IMG_1316

Cashew Cream:

2 cups raw cashews, rinsed

4 cups cold water

1 tbs lemon juice

Place the cashews in a bowl with the 4 cups of water.  Soak for at least 6 hours. Drain. Place cashews in a food processor or high-speed blender with 1 cup of water and 1 tbs of lemon juice. Blend until smooth. This keeps well in the refrigerator for 1 week.

Cashew Cream tastes best when enjoyed with good friends, good wine, and possibly this Creamy Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce. Knock yourselves out!

Photo1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to cashew “cream” a love story

  1. Joanne says:

    How sad for your friend but how great that you guys now have this alternative! Wine and cheese nights are officially SAVED.

  2. Heather says:

    I’ve eaten very little dairy for the past five years. I’d much rather forego the cheese than endure the pain and other digestive problems. I haven’t tried this ‘cream’ yet, but really must. It looks so easy and my food processor is sitting on the counter begging to be used more often.

Leave a Reply

