“cream” of mushroom soup

IMG_1126

 

When I was a child my family would go to the same restaurant every Friday night for their famous cream of mushroom soup.  It was a family obsession.  We all ordered the soup which came with crusty bread and a side salad. I remember counting down the days each week until Friday finally arrived.  I loved the whole tradition and the fact that our waitress never needed to give us menus because she knew what we were all ordering.  It was very special and made me feel like we were famous!  The funny thing is, I didn’t even like mushrooms as a kid.  I would pick them out of salads, eat around them in egg dishes, and god forbid if my mom put them in pasta sauce! However, there was something about this soup that I simply couldn’t resist.

IMG_1123

 

Recently I have been thinking about that cream of mushroom soup.  I knew I wanted to give it a go in my own kitchen but I wanted to lighten it up a bit.  I’m not going to lie, I was a little worried that if I made a healthier version of an old favorite I would be disappointed.  I am happy to report that my take on cream of mushroom soup is my new favorite recipe! I was very happy with how this turned out.  No cream necessary.  Just a few cans of white beans, some mushrooms, a little rosemary, an onion, and white wine. Thats it!

“Cream” of Mushroom Soup

2 tbs olive oil

1 medium yellow onion, finely chopped

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1 sprig of fresh rosemary, or 1 tsp of dried

1 pound of mushrooms.  I used cremini, baby bellas, and button finely chopped

2 14 oz cans of white beans (I used navy) drained and rinsed

1/4 cup of dry white wine

3 cups of veggie stock

Salt and pepper to taste

Parsley for garnish (or fresh rosemary)

Directions:

Heat the oil in a large soup pot.  Add the onion and saute for about 5 minutes over medium heat.  Add the mushrooms and garlic. Cook for about 5 more minutes.  Add the wine and bring to a boil.  Add beans, veggie stock, rosemary, salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer soup for about 20 minutes.  With an immersion blender or food processor blend the soup until it’s creamy.  Serve warm and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “cream” of mushroom soup

  1. Carrie Link says:

    Which restaurant was it, and is it still there? I need lizzie to take me there!

    • drealieberg says:

      You need to go! And yes it’s still there. Gubanc’s is a family run restaurant and the cream of mushroom soup is the BEST! if lizzy doesn’t take you then our next date is there! I think there is a frozen yogurt shop near by for wil as well!

  2. Joanne says:

    My family has a restaurant like that also…whenever we go it feels kind of like going to a relative’s house. I’ve never had cream of mushroom soup but obviously I need to try it! Looks great!

  3. amy leclerc says:

    This soup was super yummy! Blaise ate a whole bowl! Mine turned out less mushroomy than I thought-which wasn’t a bad thing. Next time I think I’d splurge for some more flavorful shrooms and kick up the rosemary. I am definitely making this again!

  4. Simone says:

    We made this soup last night and ate it with homemade barley bread. Perfect for a cold winter night! Yum!

  5. Shannon says:

    Wish I had this recipe for Thanksgiving! I’ll definitely make it for the green bean casserole over Christmas. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

