spaghetti squash with sun dried tomato pesto

Is it farm season yet? My fingernails are WAY to clean, my body is not sore, and I am not sleeping well.  I miss farm life!

I don’t want to wish winter away. I mean there are holiday parties, skiing, christmas music, and plenty of pumpkin recipes that still need to be eaten.  The problem I have with winter is the dark days and the feeling of being lazy. I know a lot of people have a hard time in the winter so I just need to get over it and move on! We are all in the same boat.

Back to the spaghetti squash….

Watching your carbohydrate intake?

No, me neither. Buttttt, I will admit that spaghetti squash is a nice alternative to traditional spaghetti.  Besides, if Taylor will eat it without batting an eye you know it’s good.

The highlight to this “pasta” dish was the sun-dried tomato pesto. This pesto would taste great on sandwiches, roasted vegetables, or by the spoonful (not guilty I swear!)

We have made this pesto in the past but I had forgotten how lovely it was.  It’s a great alternative to traditional pesto and tastes really good this time of the year.

For the pesto:

1 jar of sun-dried tomatoes (in oil)

a handful of basil leaves

3-5 garlic cloves, minced

1/4 cup chopped almonds

1/4 cup parmesan cheese, shredded

Optional: a few tablespoons of olive oil. (I added about 1 tbs, but you shouldn’t need much because the sun-dried tomatoes are in oil)

Place all ingredients in a food processor and blend away! Tate test and add anything you think is missing. Easy peasy!

For the spaghetti squash:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Slice the spaghetti squash in half lengthwise and scrape out the seeds. Drizzle a little olive oil, salt, and pepper on each squash half.  Place on an oiled baking sheet cut side down and bake in the oven for about 40-50 minutes.

Once the squash has cooled a bit use a fork to scrap out the “noodles” Mix the squash noodles with the pesto.  Serve warm!

We mixed our pasta with some sautéed onions and kale.  You can add any other cooked veggies to this dish as you’d like.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to spaghetti squash with sun dried tomato pesto

  1. Joanne says:

    I love using spaghetti squash for some of the more creamy decadent pasta sauces…this way I can full-out enjoy the flavor without a single bit of guilt. The pesto looks like the perfect pairing for it!

    • drealieberg says:

      My plan is to make a creamy mushroom sauce for our next “spaghetti” dinner. By the way, I’m a huge fan of your blog!

  2. J o s e y says:

    This is DEFINITELY dinner tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

