pumpkin-gingerbread smoothie

I know I know I know! I promised you all chicken and dumplings today.

Have no fear though, our chicken and dumplings are cooking in the crock pot as I write this post! Tomorrow I will give you the recipe I am following. Hopefully it’s good.  Fingers crossed!

I will admit, the whole process of killing our own chickens was a bit overwhelming.  We said thank you to the chickens before we slit their throats and I had to hold back a few tears because I didn’t think I could handle it. (Yes, I’m a bit emotional.) However, I still feel really good about the chickens we are eating and the lives that they led. With that being said, after tonight’s dinner and Thanksgiving I don’t think you will find many meat recipes on here.  However, if Taylor gets into hunting who knows……

Anyway, back to the pumpkin-gingerbread smoothie.  This smoothie is a winner.  And with Turkey day just 3 days away I think this is the perfect breakfast to help keep you full and feeling healthy. Plus it’s very festive!

Pumpkin-gingerbread smoothie:

1 cup almond milk

1 banana

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

1 tbs blackstrap molasses

1 tsp cinnamon

dash of nutmeg

1/2 tsp fresh minced ginger (or dried)

a few ice cubes.

Blend all ingredients together in the blender and enjoy!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to pumpkin-gingerbread smoothie

  1. Lauren Giannullo says:

    As a strict vegetarian, I don’t want to eat any meat, ever. But I can’t help but respect folks who eat meat after raising it (humanely) and slaughtering it themselves. You know exactly what goes into getting that chicken on your plate and even played a role – doesn’t get any more real than that. So, good for you guys for choosing to source your meat how you did. Although, if you stuck with all veggies I wouldn’t be sad either!

    Love your blog – I can’t tell you how many awesome recipes I’ve made thanks to you!

  2. charlotte says:

    SHUT UP SHUT UP SHUT UP. That smoothie sounds INCREDIBLE. And so festive! must.by.ginger.now.

    In other news, I must have missed a post or two and seriously need to do some backreading… YOU KILLED CHICKENS?! You’re a brave soul.

  3. Charlotte says:

    Oh. Got caught up. Ugh. (I mean, COOL. But also, UGH).

Leave a Reply

