tomato orange soup

Would it be weird if I put an ad in the local newspaper looking for friends? Okay, don’t answer that!

I am feeling like a strange stalker whenever I leave my house.  If I see a group of girls running together while I’m out running by myself I tend to follow them (sometimes a little too closely). I have to hold myself back from shouting “hey, I’m new to town I swear I’m cool!” Taylor supports any outburst I may shout. He thinks it’s how I’ll make a new best friend.  We’ll see.  Taylor is going through the same thing so at least I am in good company.

The good news, yes there is good news; we are both starting jobs.  This is big! Taylor even got a girls phone number for me. (Yes, my husband is picking up chicks for me.) So hopefully we’ll start making friends and enjoying this amazing place we are living in.

If you’re looking to make new friends like we are I think this tomato orange soup is a good place to start.

The inspiration for the soup comes from my favorite deli in Portland Elephants Deli and  Uproot From Oregon’s blog. I was reading Uproot from Oregon when she mentioned loving Elephants tomato orange soup.  I haven’t had the soup in years, but it is one of my all time favorites.  The combination of tomatoes and orange is a match made in heaven.

This soup tastes best when enjoyed with good friends or your amazing husband.

Tomato Orange Soup (original recipe calls for butter and cream, I didn’t have either on hand and this version turned out beautifully!)

2 tbs extra virgin olive oil

1 medium yellow onion, diced

2 (14.5 oz) cans of diced tomatoes

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1 cup fresh orange juice

In a large soup pot saute the onion in the olive oil over medium heat.  Cook for about 8 minutes. Stirring often.  Add tomatoes, salt, pepper, thyme, and baking soda. Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for about 15 minutes.

Pruree soup with an immersion blender (or carefully ladle mixture to a food processor) Add orange juice and stir to combine.

Serve warm and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to tomato orange soup

  1. allisonimacaroni says:

    Whoa. I never woulda thought tomatoes and oranges- an acid and an acid, would pair well together, but you’ve never steered me wrong before! And if i lived a little closer, i would totally be your friend. You should throw some cat calls in there. I mean, you might not make any friends that way, but some people like it.

    • drealieberg says:

      Dude, I wish you lived closer! Also, I love the idea of some cat calls. Even if I don’t make any friends out of it at least I would give them something to talk about for the rest of their run!

  2. Linda says:

    Here’s a tip for ya Andrea. Try going to meetup.com and find a meet up interest group in HR! There must be some. I just saw one in Portland called: Young Portland Women Meeting for Friendship. Maybe there’s a similar group in HR. or a running group. Good Luck! Who wouldn’t want you for a friend? PS: I did read Gone Girl! Wasn’t as crazy about it but maybe I’m too old!

  3. Carrie Link says:

    I think Linda has a good idea! Also, maybe volunteer for something, or put a note up in the library or grocery store that you are wanting to start a book group, or some such thing. Also, remember the law of attraction. Start thanking the universe for the incredible friend(s) that are about to be sent your way!

  4. Shawn says:

    You’re about the cutest thing ever! I remember being new to Bend and hearing people talk about going to book club or something and wanting to invite myself because we didn’t know anyone at all. It’s hard to break into a friendship circle because it seems like everyone is all ready “filled” up. Luckily I was wrong and eventually found some good friends. It just takes time and patience and a few random shout outs probably helps. Good luck!

  5. Liz D says:

    Was looking for a soup recipe tonight, and this will be perfect since I have it all here! I’m sure you’ll have a huge social calendar soon….you are still a lieberg at heart! love to your boys…

  6. EmilyB says:

    hah! i haven’t read your blog recently, but FYI – stalking goes two ways. i was driving up the heights the other day with my boyfriend, staring out the window, and am pretty sure we passed you running up 13th. i’m new to the area as well, and my dog is always looking for friends to go on hikes with. love to have you join us sometime, if you are interested.

  7. Hey Andrea- so happy you enjoy this soup as much as I do! I will try it your way as well as I’d love to cut down on the dairy aspect of it anyways. I froze a bunch of the soup and just reheated it today with some melted mozzarella on top.. super tasty! Hope all is well and creep away- that’s normally how I make friends too : )

  8. mizzb says:

    Have you read MWF Seeking BFF? I think it’s definitely worth your time. Also, as a fellow runner, I think you should catch up to the folks you see and chat. Ask them for favorite routes, running clubs, etc. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

