maple banana oatmeal

As the temperature starts to drop, Taylor and I have been forced to give up our morning juices and indulge in something a little more hearty.

Who among us doesn’t love a big ol’ bowl of piping hot oatmeal? Add something sweet, spicy, creamy, or mashed and the love affair goes over the top.  I can’t get enough!

With a bowl of oatmeal in my belly a day at Tumbleweed is much more manageable.

Not only do I stay full for hours, but I have shed way less tears recently! I think a breakfast of hot cereal is as healthy as a trip to the counselor.  All of my problems seem to disappear at the breakfast table.

Oatmeal contains important vitamins and minerals and with healthy toppings you can guarantee a nice spring in your step all morning long. (Oh wait, maybe that spring in my step comes from the 10 cups of coffee I drink with my oatmeal! Whoops!)

This maple banana oatmeal is delicious. I highly recommend waking up a little bit earlier than usual so you can enjoy this oatmeal with as much coffee as possible, the morning paper, and your favorite slippers.  You will be skipping to work before you know it!

Maple Banana Oatmeal:

1 cup steel cut oats (or whatever oats you love)

2 cups water

1 tbs molasses

1 tbs pumpkin pie spice

1/2 cup raisins

1 banana, mashed

a few tablespoons cream or non dairy milk

maple syrup to taste

crushed pecans to sprinkle on top

Bring the water to a boil.  Add the oats, molasses, spice, and banana.  Bring back to a boil.  Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer for about 10-12 minutes.  When oats are done place them in a bowl, add cream, pecans, and maple syrup to taste.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to maple banana oatmeal

  1. Judy Brummond says:

    Oh, my, this sounds and looks wonderful: I can hardly wait to cook a batch!

Leave a Reply

