pumpkin hummus

Since Halloween is tomorrow I have been doing a few things to prepare.
1. I made you all this pumpkin hummus to snack on in between candy binges.
2. I’ve been watching a show called Disappeared on the Investigative Discovery channel.
3. I just started reading the book Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.
4. Numbers 2 and 3 on the list have pretty much made me scared of my own shadow. Why do I do this to myself!?

20121030-191114.jpg
In case you have not heard of this book it is pretty much a physiological thriller about a marriage that has gone terribly wrong. It is well written and totally creepy. Since I am already a paranoid insane person it makes total sense that I would dive right into this book, right? I can’t seem to stop. My addiction to psychological thrillers is like my addiction to hot sauce. It’s awesome and intense at the time, but once I’m done I’m usually left sweating and questioning my sanity.

20121030-192443.jpg
Thank god I made pumpkin hummus to help bring me back down to earth. This was the perfect break from my scary book and Disappeared marathon.

20121030-193310.jpg
Pumpkin Hummus ( inspired by nomsforthepoor.com)
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup almond butter
2 cloves garlic
4 tbs water
2 tsp curry powder
1 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1 cup pumpkin purée
1 1/2 cups chickpeas
Place all ingredients in a food processor and purée until smooth. If mixture is too thick add a little more water. Enjoy!

Also, if any of you have read or heard of this book let me know what you think/ thought. I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to pumpkin hummus

  1. Penelope says:

    I’m about to start that book, just waiting for it to arrive from amazon. I can’t wait, but I’m already nervous to begin-it sounds creepy!

  2. Jess says:

    I’m with you on the pumpkin ideas… Last night I attempted pumpkin black bean burgers. They turned out to be more along the lines of pumpkin black bean sloppy joes, but still delicious. I’ll try that hummus tonight!

  3. amy leclerc says:

    You life is full of yum and scary. Pretty rad if you ask me!

  4. Zoe says:

    i’ve always loved pumpkin but never got past muffins or soup. i just made the pumpkin smoothie and the hummus is next on my list. thx & yum!

Leave a Reply

