eggplant falafel stacks with tahini-lemon sauce

I read cookbooks like some people read the bible.  I get nervous, excited, inspired, and feel totally vulnerable to a higher power.  The words in a cookbook hit a chord with me and I totally transform.  Sounds crazy I know, but it’s the truth.

If there was a Sunday service dedicated to sharing cookbook recipes I would be there in a heartbeat. Trading in my Carhartt overalls for my Sunday’s finest attire.

Until then, I will stick with my day job. Harvesting parsley at 7 a.m. on a Sunday.

We were in the midst of the parsley patch this morning when the recipe for Mollie Katzen’s (the Moosewood Cookbook) tahini-lemon sauce would not leave my mind.  I had been skimming the pages of the Moosewood Cookbook last night and fell asleep with lovely images of creamy tahini dressing running through my head.

There is parsley involved in the recipe and I am pretty sure it is her secret ingredient to this amazing sauce.

Eggplant falafel stacks with tahini-lemon sauce (inspired by the Moosewood Cookbook)

We layered a fresh tomato over the eggplant followed by falafel, followed by the tahini dressing.  I highly recommend eating it this way!

For the eggplant:

1 large Italian eggplant, sliced into 1/2 inch rounds and grilled (or roasted in a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes, flipping once during the roasting process)

For the falafel:

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

3-4 tbs of olive oil

1/2 cup chopped red onion

1/2 cup fresh parsley, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, minced

2 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp. turmeric

1 tsp salt

dash of cayenne pepper

Preheat your oven to 375.

Combine all ingredients in a food processor or blender.  Blend until smooth but not pureed.  From mixture into small patties.

Place patties on a cookie sheet greased with olive oil.  Bake for 13 minutes.  Remove falafel from oven and flip patties.  Bake for another 13-15 minutes.

For the Tahini-lemon sauce:

3/4 cup sesame tahini

juice of 1 lemon

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 cup of water (a little more or less depending on the consistency you want)

1 tsp salt

a handful of finely minced fresh parsley

a dash of cayenne pepper

With a blender, food processor, or just a whisk, mix all ingredients together until well combined.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to eggplant falafel stacks with tahini-lemon sauce

  1. liz says:

    You ought to keep track of the number of new eggplant lovers you convert.
    This sounds fantastic. I will give it a try over the weekend.
    Here in the Northwest we are enjoying tomatoes every chance we get. Today’s lunch was a combo of tomato pie with a small bowl of homemade tomato soup.

  2. Carrie Link says:

    Your kitchen is your church. Makes all the sense to me in the world.

  3. amy leclerc says:

    Can I get an Amen?! P.S. lizzie’s tomato pie is amazeballs.

  4. Sean Moulton says:

    blown away. how do you take such good pictures?!?!

Leave a Reply

