heirloom tomato and pesto pizza

If I see one more watermelon I think I might lose it.

I know I know, they really are delicious.  But come on, this guy weighed in at 27 pounds:

I think I need an emergency trip to the chiropractor.  Followed by a trip to the spa.  Followed by an afternoon drinking champagne and eating cupcakes on a picnic blanket.

I guess I could settle for an evening drinking a beer and eating pizza.  It really is the next best thing.

Taylor and I have been on a pesto kick recently since our basil at the farm has downy mildew and is on its way out.  I have been insisting we eat basil at least once a day.  It’s only a matter of time before it’s gone for good.

We enjoyed a heirloom tomato and pesto pizza for dinner last night.  It only took one bite of this delicious pizza for me to totally forget about melons. All is well again.

For the pizza:

A variety of heirloom tomatoes sliced into thin rounds.  We used Goldie, Aunt Ruby’s, and Brandywine.

about 1/3 cup of homemade pesto

1/4 cup of shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese.

Salt and pepper to taste.

1 ball of homemade or store bought pizza dough.

Preheat oven to 400.

Roll out dough.  Spread pesto evenly.  Top with sliced tomatoes.  Sprinkle cheese, salt and pepper. Bake for 12-15 minutes or just until cheese is bubbling and dough is slightly browned.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to heirloom tomato and pesto pizza

  1. Trish says:

    basil freezes really well – I pick a whole bunch and put it straight in a freezer bag and into the freezer. I take it out a bit at a time to make pesto in the winter.

  2. Beth says:

    Downy mildew?
    Teach us, please.

    • drealieberg says:

      Beth,
      I am not 100 percent positive but I believe downy mildew is a fungal disease that can become more rampant in moist or humid conditions. We usually see pale yellow and brown spotting on the basil leaves which is the first sign that the disease is here. We have had trouble with it in the past, but usually struggle mainly with our basil. Once it has arrived it can wipe out a planting very quickly. I hope that is helpful!!

  3. Beth says:

    Thanks for this info, Andrea. Sorry to hear that your basil planting got wiped out. Will you have time to plant and harvest another? Also, what can an organic farmer do to prevent is recurrance?

Leave a Reply

