dinner for one

There are few things in life I enjoy more than to prepare a meal for people I love.  However, I will admit that every once in a while it is nice to dine alone.  Especially when I am in the mood for eggplant.

Taylor is not a huge fan of eggplant.  Unfortunately for him, it’s finally in season.  And guess what..I love eggplant!  There will be many meals in the near future highlighting it. My husband will not be a happy camper.  Unless of course, I can disguise it as well as I do Quinoa.

Taylor is out for the evening so I took full advantage of our newest crop.  I wanted to make something easy and came across a recipe from Bon Appetit that sounded nice.

Stir-fried eggplant and green beans. (We are currently harvesting both these amazing crops so this recipe was a no brainer!)

Below is the recipe I followed from Bon Appetit.  The only changes I made were using extra firm tofu and marinating it in teriyaki sauce myself instead of buying already baked tofu.  I also added toasted sesame seeds to the stir-fry.  I highly recommend both these alterations.

Ingredients

3 1/2 tablespoons olive oil, divided

6 ounces green beans, trimmed, cut into 2–3-inch pieces

1 long, narrow Japanese eggplant (about 9 ounces), cut in half lengthwise, halves cut into 1/2-inch slices on a wide diagonal

3 scallions, green and white parts separated, thinly sliced

7 ounces teriyaki-flavor baked tofu, preferably organic, cut into 1/2-inch cubes (I just baked my own tofu in teriyaki sauce)

3 tablespoons chili-garlic sauce

Salt to taste

(and a sprinkling of sesame seeds)

Preparation

Heat 1/2 Tbsp. oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add green beans and stir-fry until coated, about 30 seconds. Add 1 Tbsp. water to skillet, cover, and cook until beans are almost crisp-tender and water evaporates, about 2 minutes. Transfer green beans to a bowl.

Heat remaining 3 Tbsp. oil in same skillet over medium-high heat. Add eggplant and stir-fry until tender and brown, about 2 minutes. Add white parts of scallions and stir-fry until scallions are fragrant, about 30 seconds. Return green beans to skillet; add tofu and stir-fry until tofu is browned and heated through, about 2 minutes.

Mix chili-garlic sauce and 2 Tbsp. water in a small bowl. Pour into skillet and stir-fry vegetables and tofu gently until lightly coated, about 1 minute. Season to taste with salt.

Taylor won’t think he missed out.  But I assure you this was delicious.

Enjoy your evening!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to dinner for one

  1. liz says:

    Salmon on the menu here on the West coast. Looks good and i also have a mate who doesn’t do eggplant.

Leave a Reply

