garlic

A few years ago, whenever I though about garlic my face would light up.  Images of pesto, roasted tomato spread,  and my favorite salad dressing would flood my mind.  The smell of fresh garlic is one of my favorite scents.  It reminds me of happy summertime dinner parties, my mom, bonfires, and even flip flops.  Garlic really hits a soft spot in my heart.

But wait….don’t let the smiling faces fool you.  Images of fresh pesto, bonfires, and my mom were quickly replaced with anger, frustration,  blistered hands, and broken backs. We spent 3 hot hours pulling around 10,000 heads of garlic out of the ground.  There was blood, there were tears, and way too many swear words.  The task was not easy.

Pulling garlic out of the ground may go down in the history as one of my least favorite things to do.  My hands will never be smooth again, my back will never be straight again, and my love of pesto is a little tainted.

Damn you garlic.

3 hours and two truck loads later we headed back to the farm. (The garlic is planted in a field 1 mile from our farm.)

Two trucks full of garlic is not something you see everyday.

Our spirits may be low, but we just tackled one of the worst activities of the season.  Thank god it’s over.

And just because I couldn’t stand not to enjoy a little of our hard work, I made my favorite salad dressing.

This is our go-to salad dressing for most occasions.  It’s easy and it calls for one clove of garlic.  (Because everything good in life calls for at least one clove of garlic)

Balsamic dressing:

2 tbs balsamic vinegar

1 medium clove of garlic, finely minced

4 tbs of extra virgin olive oil

Salt and ground pepper to taste

Whisk all ingredients together.

You can pour this dressing on anything.  The salad above would be farm fresh lettuce, blueberries, red onion, edamame, and avocado.  The highlight was the slight hint of garlic from the dressing.  Go figure…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to garlic

  1. Jean says:

    But thank you for that heavenly garlic. It’s the best. Have a nice hot shower, a cold beer, something with bacon off the grill and a run with Henry and you might feel better.

    • drealieberg says:

      Jean,
      A cold beer was consumed right at 4 o’clock yesterday. Bacon is on the menu for this weekend (thank god!) and the garlic is looking great. My hands are still beat up but my spirits are high once again. It’s amazing how fast a horrible day can change into a good one! I hope you come grab some garlic soon!!!

  2. jen f says:

    Salad looks delish! I make the same dressing, but instead of garlic, add maple syrup. Yum! Hope you recover soon….

  3. Trish says:

    that is a very noteworthy quote – everything good in life calls for at least one clove of garlic.

Leave a Reply

