getting our sweat on

Top 10 things likely to be said on the farm when it’s 98 degrees outside.

1. Is there any more sunscreen in that bottle?

2. No.

3. I can’t believe it’s only 7 in the morning and I am sweating so badly. I think I need to change my clothes.

4. Am I drinking too much water?

5. Are you sure you’re drinking enough water?

6. Can we go sit in the truck with the air conditioner blasted?

7. The truck doesn’t have air conditioning

8. I think I might apply for a job at Starbucks

9. Oh know, the lettuce looks dead

10. I think I have heat stroke

With highs in the upper 90’s our day was not pretty.  But the good news is that we have blueberries available!  And that is worth heat stroke and a nasty sunburn.

I like to think me and my fellow farm friends will stop at nothing for some of our favorite crops.  And so far we are proving to be warriors!

Dinner was easy.  Leftovers from last night.

Stuffed portabella mushrooms.  Yummy!

We stuffed our mushrooms with a mixture of sautéed scallions (roughly 5 scallions diced, white and light green parts only), 3 large carrots chopped into 1/4 inch rounds, 2 summer squash, chopped into 1/4 inch rounds, and one large bunch of swiss chard.  We added about 1 cup of cooked rice to the mixture and topped everything off with the              tamari-ginger sauce from the other night. However, this time we added about 1/4 cup of tahini to the sauce.  The best addition!!!  Once we mixed the sauce with the other ingredients we stuffed two large portabella mushrooms, drizzled with a little olive oil, and placed everything on a greased baking sheet.  Baked in a 350 degree oven for about 25 -30 minutes or until mushrooms are cooked through.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

