farming

The good thing about farming at Hutchins Farm, is that no matter what happens during the season we are usually rewarded with fresh food all summer long.  Some things will thrive, others not so much, but in the end there is usually something to show for all of our hard work.

Lately the days on the farm have been hot, cold, rainy, and dry.  The weather changes so fast that it is difficult to dress appropriately.  I usually get it wrong.  Which results in a wardrobe change at lunchtime almost everyday. (Extremely annoying!)

But occasionally we will luck out with really pleasant mornings and beautiful afternoons.  On these days I love being on the farm.  I can sometimes get lost in daydreams and forget about how badly my back hurts or how uncomfortable my boots are.  It’s wonderful.  This feeling is always temporary though.  There is always a point in the day when I hate working on the farm.  When every square inch of my body aches and every task we do becomes monotonous and hard.  This is the point in the day when I usually pretend I am on the show Survivor.  Unfortunately, unlike Survivor there isn’t a million dollar reward for making it through a day on the Farm. But the promise of an Adirondack chair and an ice-cold beer waiting for me is priceless.  And if I’m lucky, some farm fresh produce to cook up for dinner.

No one made me become a farmer.  I often have to remind myself of that.  But sometimes I wish I hadn’t fallen in love with something that was going to be so hard. I guess you can’t enjoy the good without all the bad.  And that is farming.

Back to cooking tomorrow.  I have a lovely stir fry recipe to share with you all.  Enjoy your evening.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to farming

  1. amy says:

    sometimes when i am tied to an iphone, laptop, car and caffeine, i think about you and the work you do and i am envious. like everything in life, you take the good with the bad. you have great perspective. xoxo

  2. Beth says:

    For those of us who live in a city, you are our lifeline to the beginning of the food chain – Through your onlne journaling, you connect us with visuals and first-hand accounts of an important aspect of life. And yes, as Amy says, you provide valuable instruction on dealing with things as they come. That’s what farmers do, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

