just the beginning…

It is only the beginning of our harvest season but I feel like a kid in a candy shop.

However, if I remember correctly, my hamstrings and back never hurt after a trip to the candy store.  Usually just my stomach.  There seems to  always a price to pay for wonderful sweets.  I will gladly take a sore back any day though.  Fresh strawberries are worth every ache and pain.

I love strawberries.

And guess what? Strawberries love spinach, cilantro and radishes.

Who knew?

After a morning of harvesting some of our early produce I couldn’t wait to come home and make a farm fresh lunch.

Strawberry, spinach, cilantro, and radish Panini with goat cheese, caramelized onions, and balsamic reduction.

Clearly I was excited about the only produce we have available.

This combination turned out really well though.  And this is how wonderful recipes are born.  You gotta use what’s in season and what is at your fingertips.  This has never failed me.

Strawberry, goat cheese, and spinach Panini:

4 large strawberries, chopped into bite size pieces

1/4 of a large yellow onion, diced and sautéed.

6 large spinach leaves

2 radishes, sliced into thin rounds

a few sprigs of cilantro

goat cheese

good quality bread

balsamic vinegar, reduced to a syrup (recipe here)

Spread goat cheese evenly over bread.  Top with strawberries, onions, spinach, radishes, cilantro, and balsamic reduction.  Place on a hot frying pan and cook for about 3 minutes per side.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to just the beginning…

  1. Mary Ryckman says:

    Yum – I sure wish I was there to eat!! can you maybe send me some though the internet. Gina and I are coming out so you can take us to the farm! Love ya, Aunt Mary

Leave a Reply

