avocado hummus

To my delight our cilantro is slowing popping up out of the ground.  It is really tiny but definitely useable.

It was my secret weapon for this delicious avocado hummus dip.

There are few things on this earth I like more than a rich and creamy hummus dip.  And boy does this avocado hummus recipe take the cake.

The texture was perfect, the flavor was amazing and the only complaint I have is that I don’t have any leftovers.  It disappeared really quickly!

The best way to enjoy this hummus dip is with a giant margarita (or two, maybe three) and a bunch of your close friends.  I highly recommend making this soon.

Avocado Hummus dip:

2 very ripe avocados

about 3 cups fresh cilantro

2-3  cloves garlic

Juice of 1-2 lemons (i used 2)

1 can chickpeas (rinsed and drained)

about 3 tbs extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Mix everything in a food processor.  Adjust flavors as you need to.

Serve with chips, bread, veggies, or spread on a sandwich.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to avocado hummus

  1. Diane says:

    I love your recipies and a daily view into your interesting life in Concord. Just for fun, I need to tease you that the margaritas might be responsible for ‘rip’ avacados, ‘speed’ on a sandwich and how much cilantro? I’m just jealous because no one served margaritas at my 8 year old grandson’s birthday party on Cinco de Mayo.

    • drealieberg says:

      oh. my. gosh!!!! haha, you are right. I may have woken up with a few margaritas for breakfast. Just fixed about 5 misspellings in that post!!! thanks for the heads up!!

  2. Does the hummus stay bright green for long or does it start to turn?

  3. OMG!! the carrot puree was to die for!! Gary sauteed up some beet greens and chard with garlic to go along with it. We licked out plates clean!! Thank you for that recipe! The avocado hummus sounds (and looks) amazing!!! We have a prolific avocado tree in our yard and a lemon tree so I’m going to make this tomorrow. Tonight is veggie “meat”ball sub night…I’ll let you know how that goes.
    Anytime you and Taylor would like to come to Maui, you are most welcome to stay with us! We live upcountry and we’d love to have you 🙂 xxo

    • drealieberg says:

      So glad the recipe turned out!!! I love me some carrot puree! Hope the hummus turned out as well. Yummy! And Taylor and I would LOVE to take you up on your offer. One of these days we will make it out to Maui! XO

Leave a Reply

