top ten

Top ten things likely to be said on a typical day at the Farm.

10. Oh thank god, we didn’t kill the lettuce.

9.  I can’t wait until next month when we finally get to harvest “X”

8. We better get some rain soon.

7. I am so sick of planting “X” I don’t even like it anymore.

6. Can I borrow your sunblock?

5. All these seedlings are making me hungry. What are you cooking for dinner?

4. Did that give you a blister too?

3. The F*$#%*# deer better stay away from the spinach

2.  I think I just pulled a back muscle.

1. I’m ready for a beer.

Don’t get me wrong.  All my coworkers and I love our job.  Sometimes complaining is the only way to make it through the day.  That, and the promise of an ice cold beer when it’s all over.

No one ever said farming was going to be easy.  Thank god I have a great group of people I can go through the experience with.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to top ten

  1. Beer makes everything better 🙂 Although tonight I made a bloody mary and that made everything better too!

  2. Beth says:

    Hey, Andrea, the photos of planting season at Hutchisn Farm have been interesting. Thanks for posting them.
    Your lettuce is planted in raised rows – It looks like the lettuce beds might be 6-8 inches high. Why is that? Is it to allow for drainage in case of heavy rain? I’m curious, because it also seems as if the raised beds and the seeds (or seedlings) could get washed away by heavy rainfall.
    Please educate us a bit about the science of planting veggie beds.
    BTW, how do you protect the tender shoots from hungry deer?
    Thanks!

    • drealieberg says:

      Beth, the raised beds are good for drainage and provide nutrient- dense topsoil for roots to grow.
      As far at the deer. we put up temporary fences around newly planted veggies. Most of the time that works, but sometimes they still manage to get through. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

