it’s getting hot out there

Thank you all for your sweet and encouraging comments.  It feels amazing to have fans from all over rooting me on!  So thank you.

I have been obsessively checking the weather forecast for the past week. Hoping that just by checking it 1000 times a day it would somehow miraculously change.  However, I have finally excepted the fact that tomorrow (marathon Monday) is going to be a HOT day.  Highs in the upper 80’s.

Henry feels the same way I do about the heat.  Ugggg.

This is not ideal running weather.

I also woke up this morning to an email from the Boston Athletic Association.   It was basically warning all runners to take serious precautions.  They are also encouraging runners who have not trained in warm climates to not run in this years marathon.  Running in heat like this is dangerous and not recommended.   Yikes!

I have considered all of my options and have decided to still participate in the race.  I am going to take is slow, stay hydrated, and listen to my body.  I haven’t run a marathon in weather warmer than 50 degrees before so this will be interesting.

On a lighter note, I also got an email from A Farmer In The Dell fan with this lovely sign.

Okay, so the fan is my mom, but isn’t she amazing!! She cannot be at the race but this sign makes me smile and you better believe I will be dreaming about bacon around mile 20!

Thanks lizzy!

Alright, I am off to the grocery store with my dad.  We are making risotto tonight. A favorite pre race meal. Yum.

Enjoy you Sunday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to it’s getting hot out there

  1. I’ve read that drinking something like a slushy an hour or so before a hot race can help to cool your body temperature a bit…just FYI 🙂

  2. Mike Shea says:

    Good Luck Andrea!!!! – Mike and Layne

  3. grandma says:

    Don’t know yet how it turned out for you, but I did watch alot of the race….grueling!! People dropping out, injured, painful to watch the leader fade after the first hour. Hoping you made it to the finish, nevermind what position, just finishing makes one a champion. I’m proud of each and every one that finished, or even participated!!!!!!

  4. amy leclerc says:

    OMG! Just have fun. Don’t be afraid to hitch hike or call a cab-just sayin. We love you! xoxo

  5. Jean says:

    Good luck and take care.

  6. liz says:

    What is grandma smokin. i want some!

Leave a Reply

