dinner on me

Guess what?

I made you dinner!

Okay, I know you don’t live around here but if you did, I would invite you all over for some delicious oven-roasted stuffed zucchini and whipped carrots.

If you ever find yourself in Concord, MA look us up. We love a good dinner party!

Tonight’s meal was not only delicious but was extremely nutritious. I think bacon is on the menu for tomorrow night so this is the super-food meal we needed!

Stuffed Zucchini with Broccoli Mushrooms and Cheese.

Serves 2 people.

2 large zucchini (sliced lengthwise and insides scooped out with about 1/4 inch sides remaining)

1 onion, diced

4 cloves garlic, diced

2 cups mushrooms, diced

1 cup broccoli florets.  Cut even smaller

about 1/4 cup grated gruyere cheese

1 cup cooked brown rice

Preheat oven to 375

Sautee up your onion.  After about 5 minutes add your garlic.  Stir.  Cook for about 3-5 more minutes.  Add your broccoli and mushrooms.  Cook for about 5-7 more minutes.  Add your rice.  You may not need to add a full cup.  But just enough to even out all the other ingredients.

Scoop veggie mixture into prepared zucchini boats.  You will probably have leftover veggie mix.  That’s always a good thing! Yay leftovers!

Sprinkle zucchini with cheese.  Bake in the oven for 20-30 minutes.  Check zucchini periodically to make sure it isn’t burning.

Serve warm with a side of whipped carrots.

6 large carrots, chopped and boiled

2 tbs olive oil

dash of orange juice (you can omit this, but you may need to add a little water)

dash of cayenne pepper

dash of paprika

salt and pepper to taste

Place all ingredients in a food processor.  Mix until a whipped consistency is achieved! serve warm!

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to dinner on me

  1. susieb says:

    Hi I just cooked this for my daughter and me, it was scrummy . We have been meat free for 6 weeks now. I love your blog, it really cheers me up. I was meant to run the London Marathon today but like you I hurt my IT band and decided to run next year instead. Well done for your Boston marathon run, love the fact your sister and dad got so involved.

    • drealieberg says:

      I am so glad you guys liked this dish! It is a go-to in our house all summer long. I am so sorry to hear about the London marathon. Injuries are the worst! I am glad you got to decline until next year. Rest up and hopefully you will be back to running soon!

  2. Pingback: Local Zucchini Boats « Urban Acres

  3. Laura Horton says:

    This sounds great! Unfortunately (and unbelievably), my boyfriend/roommate does not like mushrooms. Do you have a suggestion for a substitute?

Leave a Reply

