morning breakfast

As a girl who grew up in rainy Portland, Oregon I usually began my day with a hot breakfast of sorts.  Oatmeal, eggs, toast you get the idea.  Cold cereal or god-forbid a smoothie never sounded good on a typical stormy morning.  Burrrrr.  However, since moving to the farm I have developed a love for smoothies.  Even on a cold morning.

We are lucky enough to still have blueberries frozen from last season.  We usually throw them in the blender with a banana, some spinach, a spoonful of almond butter and some coconut water.  It tastes just like a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  And I promise you can’t taste the spinach!

We still enjoy a bowl of piping hot oatmeal, eggs, or toast.  However, most mornings this is how we roll.    Besides, who has energy to chew breakfast at 5 in the morning?

Speaking of the morning.  This is what we spent the first half of our day doing.

Transplanting in the greenhouse is never ending this time of year.

The highlight of our day was tending to the second strawberry patch.  We got to ditch the greenhouse for 3 full hours!  I have never been so excited to weed in my whole life.

Dinner tonight was easy.  We made a batch of my favorite soup last night and got to enjoy the leftovers.

Carrot ginger soup. It’s heavenly!  I have made this many times before and you can find the recipe here.

We enjoyed our soup with a side salad. The  Perfect evening meal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to morning breakfast

  1. That’s SO WEIRD – I made a smoothie this morning for the first time in years! Here’s what I used: plain yogurt, 2% milk, 1/2 banana, honey and ice. It was super!

  2. Ellena McClain says:

    Hi Andrea,
    Had to let you know that I really enjoy your blog !! I love your recipes and I always check out your “favorite recipes” when I’m ready for something fresh, healthy and local. Have you ever thought of writing a cook book? Good luck with the Boston Marathon !
    Ellena ( Mrs. McClain )

    • drealieberg says:

      Mrs. McClain!!!

      So great hearing from you! glad you like the blog! And yes, a cookbook is a dream of mine, but not sure how to make that happen yet. For now, I am just enjoying cooking in my little kitchen!
      Thanks for your comment. it was such a nice surprise. Hope you are doing well!
      XO

  3. stinebails says:

    MMMM! That’s almost exactly how I make my smoothies, but I use frozen apple or banana. I love it when they actually look a light green too, for some reason it tastes better to me! 🙂 Thanks for your blog – LOVE IT! Someone at our company, Urban Acres here in Dallas, told me about your blog, I can’t remember who, but I love your recipes. And we have a ton of respect for farmers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

