boston or bust

It should come as no shock to you (if you have been reading this blog for a while) that farming is a serious workout.  With the start of the farm season I am always quickly reminded of the physical demands our daily routine entails.

This year, having not been able to properly train for the marathon and having to alter my exercise and activity I was sort of shocked to feel in such good shape as the season got under way.

However, I was quickly reminded that while I may not be running, I have not taken my break from training to just sit around on the couch.  Aside from farming I took my exercise routine to the next level.  And thank god I did, because if I had not been working out so regularly, I don’t know how I would have gotten through my horrible day Wednesday.  (The parsnip day.)

You all may laugh, but this little farmer has been doing at home workouts using a method of ballet, yoga, and Pilates all combined into one  workout called mybarre3   And hey, who says farmers can’t be graceful?

I was first introduced to barre3 in Portland, Oregon two winters ago.  My sister is an instructor and Taylor, me, Taylor’s sister and my brother were her first ever students while she was getting certified.

Rough looking bunch!

We moaned and groaned through our first class (it’s really hard!)  but we had a lot of fun at the same time. (Taylor had some trouble walking the next day, but he was up for another class the next time we were in Portland. He is a skier and the workouts are great cross-training!)  The unfortunate thing (I thought) about barre3 is that there are not any studios in the Boston area.  I really enjoyed the workout and wanted to use it as cross-training for my marathon.  Thank god my sister let me know about the company’s new online classes called mybarre3.  Not only are the online classes just as challenging as they are in the studio, but you can literally do them ANYWHERE!  Our apartment is a shoebox and I was worried I would not have enough room to move around.  Turns out I was wrong.  I really feel like I am right back in a studio when I do the workouts even though I am usually in my p.j.s with Henry as my sidekick.

The reason I am praising this workout method so much is because I am convinced it is why I am able to get my butt to the starting line of the Boston Marathon next weekend with minimal running training.  26.2 miles is a long way to run, but I feel strong and capable thanks to some dedicated time on my yoga mat, in my shoebox of a living room, blasting music, with Henry as my only witness.  Thank you mybarre3!  Boston here I come!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to boston or bust

  1. John says:

    The two most welcome words in the English language: Boylston Street. Go Andrea! PR in Boston!

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks for your encouraging words John! not sure if a PR is possible in the running shape I’m in, but I’m going to give it my best shot!

  2. DO IT! Can’t wait to hear all about it 🙂

  3. Trish says:

    I have to check this out. I have been doing crossfit for about 4 yrs now and have had great results. I’ve never had such good upper body strength and it keeps me from just being a passenger on my horses.

    Good Luck with Boston!

  4. Jean says:

    So glad to hear you will run Boston. Good for you!

  5. runforwine says:

    you are gonna rock it!

Leave a Reply

