just give me food!

It was a long day at the farm.

Thank god I had 3 cups of coffee before heading out the door.

I would like to think the caffeine helped, but……I don’t think it actually did.

We had the daunting task of washing close to 1000 pounds of parsnips.  That is a lot of heavy lifting (my physical therapist would not be impressed!)

Remember last week when we were harvesting these puppies?

Well, today we got busy washing the rest of them up.  They are heavy and we have to lift each crate up into this big machine that washes them.  The machine itself is ancient so things did not run smoothly.  A couple of crushed fingers, spilled over crates, and lots of swearing pretty much occupied our whole afternoon.  I was so miserable I was writing out my resume in my head.  Any other job than what I was doing would be welcomed.

But…..once I came home Taylor promptly handed me a beer and we laughed at how ridiculous our day was.

We also decided dinner would be simple.  Nothing green in tonight’s meal, but we did fry up some of those damn parsnips!  I sort of wanted to hate them, but man, they are good.

Grilled cheese sandwiches with parsnip fries.

The fries were AMAZING!  If you have not tried parsnip fries you are missing out.  Do yourself a favor and buy some parsnips.

We roasted our parsnip fries in some extra virgin olive oil, salt, pepper, and some fresh rosemary. They were divine!

All you do is cut a couple of parsnips into fry-like pieces.  Toss in the oil, salt, pepper, and whatever other herbs you would like.  Roast in the oven at 425 degrees for about 20-25 minutes.  Stirring every 10 minutes or so,

They pair really well with grilled cheese sandwiches!

It’s amazing what a beer and some homegrown parsnips can do to a girl.  I think I will keep my job after all! Tomorrow is a new day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to just give me food!

  1. grandma says:

    Parsnip fries are great!!! they, along with sweet potato fries are worth every calorie. Thanks for the reminder, I haven’t made them in awhile. But will soon again.

    • drealieberg says:

      If you make them you should try and get my brother over for dinner. I am pretty sure he has never tried such a thing ! 🙂

  2. Beth says:

    What a good idea. Will try some pasnip broiler fries this weekend
    Hey, isn’t there some news about Henry having a girlfriend?
    Your faithful blogreaders want details, please!

  3. Jean says:

    Yup — Enquiring minds want to know about Henry’s love life….

    But seriously, that was a great article about the physicality of farming and your blog has taught us about that for a long time. I noticed that the employment requirements at Hutchins only call for lifting 50 lbs and you are out there with 75 or more.

    But you have taught me to really like parsnips. When my parents married my Father told Mother that they would have a very happy marriage if she never served parsnips. So I thought it might be genetic. Guess not! Thanks for putting that myth to rest.

    • drealieberg says:

      Glad you have become a lover of parsnips! They really are something special. And yes, the employment requirement at Hutchins is to be able to lift at least 50 lbs. Often times we are lifting heavier things. Thats farm work for ya!

  4. Liz D says:

    Made your pumpkin cookies last night…..and had them for breakfast….many of them….
    How’s the ITB?

    • drealieberg says:

      oh yum! I haven’t made them in a while. I will have to change that!
      ITB is feeling better but not 100 percent. Thanks for checking in. Doing a post about it in the next day or two.
      XO

  5. Carrie Link says:

    I’m impressed with the size of your “cup.”

Leave a Reply

