butternut vs bacon

It is a bacon kind of day.

Never mind the fact that we are still not eating meat for another week.  That did not stop my mind from wandering.

I was cold in the greenhouse, and my mug of green tea was not cutting it.

About 6 hours into transplanting leeks I began fantasizing about these puppies:

Bacon wrapped datesDamn these are good!

Instead of recklessly running to the store and purchasing bacon like a crazy person, I settled for something a little on the lighter side.

Quinoa with roasted butternut squash, goat cheese, toasted walnuts, sage, salt and pepper.

It was good.  But a little fried bacon crumbled on top would have been amazing.  Next time!

I am off to a yoga class this evening.  The stretching has been helping my leg out quite a bit.  With less than 3  weeks until the marathon, I still haven’t made a final decision.  Even if my leg starts feeling better that doesn’t mean my lungs are there.  A long break from running really takes the wind out of my sails. We will see what happens.

Have a great evening.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to butternut vs bacon

  1. liz says:

    Just go for it and quit mid race if you have to. Then you’ll still be among an elite number of runners who can say they ran the Boston Marathon and decided to quit mid race. Quitting is way under rated.

  2. You can do it! You’ve trained enough and run enough before now that your body will know what to do. Just the adrenaline high of being there will help a lot.

Leave a Reply

