happy spring

We left work early yesterday to do a little of this.

Nothing like a couple of beers, sunshine, and a beautiful lake to get into the spirit of spring.

It was almost 80 degrees!

I don’t think this weather can last very long so we are soaking up every moment.

We came home to enjoy a lovely dinner that screams springtime!

I don’t typically get excited by salads, but this is hands-down the best salad I have ever made.  The secret weapon is the dressing, but with loads of diced avocado, purple grapes, and diced up red onion this was a home run.

If you didn’t check out Mollie Katzen’s recipe for Tahini-Lemon Sauce here it is.  I added a few of my own touches and it is delicious!

3/4 cup sesame tahini

juice of one lemon

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup water (depending on desired thickness you can use less water or more)

1 tsp salt

minced parsley (about a handful)

a few dashes of cayenne pepper, and a little black pepper

With an emersion blender or food processor mix all ingredients together.  Enjoy on salads, sandwiches, pasta, or other veggies.  Yummy!

The leftover dressing keeps well in the fridge for about a week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to happy spring

  1. I have to tell you – and this is no exaggeration – about my experience with this sauce tonight. I decided to make it because I had a 3/4 full jar of tahini from some falafel burgers I made a while back and I had no idea what to do with it. I thought I’d see how it was over roasted brussels sprouts. I halved the recipe then added a little splash of white balsamic vinegar because I thought it needed a tad more acid…so anyway, I couldn’t decide if I liked it or not. THEN I dipped a roasted brussels sprout in it and WOW! It was great! So I drizzled some over the pan of brussels sprouts and served the rest of it in a dish on the side. The BF liked it so much that he poured about 1/4 cup over his RICE! Then when I was putting away leftovers he said, “Just put the sprouts and rice together and pour the rest of this sauce over it!” Great recipe 🙂

  2. liz says:

    One word from PDX: RAIN

Leave a Reply

