cauliflower pizza crust

Thank you all so much for your kind comments about my leg.  I am crossing my fingers that all of this rest will help, and that I am able to participate in the Boston Marathon.

However, if that is not the case I am totally okay with it.  I am lucky to be young, healthy, and there are a million other races in my future.  Things could be a lot worse.

On a bright note, I took advantage of not having to do my 20 mile run this weekend, so Taylor and I packed our bags and headed north. We had a romantic getaway up to Maine.

The coast was calling our name!

We had a lovely time and the weather could not have been better!

We love Maine! What a beautiful part of the country.

Once we got home I promised Taylor dinner would be ready on the early side since we skipped lunch (oops).

Pizza was on the menu.

But not just any pizza.  This pizza recipe uses cauliflower as the crust instead of flour.

Can you believe it? That’s cauliflower!!! If you are gluten intolerant this recipe is for you!!! And if you aren’t this recipe is for you as well!  It was SO good and super healthy.  Taylor ate 5 slices and kept on asking “are you sure this is just cauliflower?”

Yes!  Well, cauliflower, egg, and some goat cheese. But that’s it!

The crust was SO good I wish I had doubled the batch.

Looking at the picture I still can’t believe it’s cauliflower under there!

I am usually not a recipe follower. However, I came across this recipe from another food blog and had to try it.

You can follow this recipe here and see how I went from this:

To this:

Here is what you will need:

For the crust:

  • 1 very large head of cauliflower (about 4 cups total after steaming and processing)
  • 4oz goat cheese
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 egg

Toppings:

  • marinara sauce of choice (we used a Whole Foods brand, but I highly recommend making your own, thats what we normally do.)
  • 6-8oz shredded goat mozzarella
  • 1/3 cup fresh basil leaves chopped

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Roughly chop cauliflower and process in a food processor. Mix until a fine “rice” like consistency is achieved. You may have to do this in batches.  I did.

Then transfer cauliflower to a large pot filled about 1 inch high with boiling water.  Steam it in the water for about 5 minutes.

Drain in a fine mesh strainer.

Then place mixture on a large clean dish towel and let cool. Wrap the mixture in the towel and strain out all the excess water.

Once you have done that mix the cauliflower with the beaten egg and the goat cheese.  Use your hands to do this!

Then place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Use your hands to form a pizza-like shape. (it won’t feel like regular dough, but this is ok!)

Bake in a 400 degree oven for 40 minutes.  Then remove from oven and spread out all of your toppings!

Sauce, cheese, basil….anything you want!

Then put it all back in the oven for about 5-7 more minutes.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to cauliflower pizza crust

  1. Jean says:

    Can’t wait to try this. Off in the morning to get a cauliflower. I might even put some cumin in it, too. But then, I would eat cumin on a car bumper. Still hoping your leg will be healthy enough for you to do the marathon. Take care and thanks!

  2. Hillary Klug says:

    Hi Andrea! Love your blog! Stephen and I have been following the paleo diet now for almost a year. We love it. I am thinking you could sub the goat cheese and make this dairy and grain free somehow. I have made pizza crust using almond flour and it was not that amazing; this looks way better! I can’t wait to try it. Hi to Taylor!

    • drealieberg says:

      Hey Hillary!

      Thanks for reading along! Let me know if you try this recipe and how you later it. Congrats on your engagement! Hopefully Tay and I will see you sometime out west soon!

  3. Shut the front door, that looks amazing! I can’t believe that is cauliflower! I am totally doing this.

  4. Reblogged this on jewelsincolorado and commented:
    I am totally making this soon and you should too! Thanks to A Farmer in the Dell for this new gem!

  5. Jojo says:

    All of your recipies look good but this takes the cake. I must try this!

  6. Cauliflower pizza crust is the best!

Leave a Reply

