one year ago…

I crossed the finish line in the Napa Valley Marathon with a fast enough time to qualify for Boston!

For those of you who don’t know, when I am not digging in the dirt, or climbing apple trees, I spend my time pounding the pavement. I am a long distance runner.

Taylor and Henry like running as well. (On occasion!)

I have been a distance runner for over 5 years now.  I have trained myself to keep going no matter what.  No matter how hard it gets, how much it hurts, or how badly I want to quit.  Somehow, I have always managed to get myself through a long hard run.  And I never regret it!  It is one of the best feelings in the world.

That is until something breaks, or tears, or your body just won’t do what you know it can do.  And that is why I am completely bummed that my body is not cooperating lately.  It seems as though I have hurt my IT band.  Something I have done several times in the past.  And the bad news about the IT band is that there is only one cure, not running.

With just over a month until Boston I have to rest my leg for a few weeks.  This could not be worse timing.  I have run enough marathons to know that a break from running right now can be pretty detrimental to race day.  But the only thing I can do is rest.  So rest I will!

Not sure if Boston is in my cards this year, by I am keeping a positive attitude and crossing my fingers for the best.  We will see what happens.

Pizza is for dinner.  Leftover Roasted red pepper pesto spread on pizza dough with kale, broccoli, and mozzarella.  And roasted butternut squash, kale, blue cheese and bacon pizza.  I am feeling better already!

Food like this makes me very happy.

Have a great night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to one year ago…

  1. John Zainea says:

    Andrea – I was training for Boston two years ago and hit a major bump when I herniated a disc in my lumbar spine during an 18-miler. It happened in mid-February, and I didn’t run a step for over three weeks. I thought I was toast. When I did resume running, the longest run I got in prior to the marathon was 15 miles, but darn it, I toed the line on race day and finished the race a minute off my PR. Rest up that IT band, trust all the miles you’ve put in prior to this, and run confidently on race day knowing you belong there! Keep your spirits up!

  2. Karen Anne says:

    How about the Bay to Breakers if you don’t make Boston. The former has always looked like fun.

  3. amy leclerc says:

    Sometimes the mental challenge of not being able to run is harder than those 26.2 miles, I bet in your case this is the truth. Good thing is, there are always more marathons to run and you are in such good shape, you could probably show up race day and be just fine (you’ve done that before!)

  4. I have an IT band injury too and and I’ve been told rest and rolling it out with a foam roller every night is the best thing you can do. Hopefully that’ll help you!

    • drealieberg says:

      bummer about your IT band injury! isn’t it the worst! thanks for the recommendation about the foam roller. I have been using it every day. OUCH!!! good luck healing!

  5. Carrie Link says:

    Sending healing thoughts your way.

  6. Beth says:

    Your blog pals are rooting for you.
    It may surprise you to discover how restorative this “forced rest” may be for your body.
    You could come back stronger & faster than ever!

  7. grandma says:

    So sorry about your injury and the healing time it will take, take away from your activities. I just had arthroscopic surgery for a badly mangled meniscus, and it’s taking forever to heal and for the pain to subside. Has totally interferred with my lifestyle, and the rest of my body is suffering from disuse also. And I’m only 78!! So, you will recover, do give yourself the time because a re-injury on top of the original is even worse. You’re doing great………….keep cooking, you have more than one talent!!! When feeling badly for my own injury and inconvenience, I just remember my young g’dtr, your age, with her breast cancer problems…..and then life gains perspective.

Leave a Reply

