long weekend

This should have been a fun weekend of cross-country skiing, playing in the snow, and running around.

However, that did not turn out to be the case.

I hurt my leg on a long run Saturday morning.  Major bummer.

There may or may not have been a few tears.

Our plan after my long run was to drive up to New Hampshire and hang out with our friends and get some skiing in.

The good news is that all my friends got to have fun.  The bad news is that I had to hang back.  Grrrrrrr.

However, hanging back meant that I got to spend  some quality time in front of the tv.  And guess what, our friends have cable! And with cable comes the Food Network, and with the Food Network comes Roasted Red Pepper Pesto.

I got inspiration from this dish and couldn’t wait to come home and whip up my own batch.

Roasted Red Pepper pesto is DELICIOUS! Who cares if my leg is messed up.  I think this may have actually cured it.  It was that good!

All you need is this:

1 Jar of fire roasted red peppers (drained)

3 cloves of garlic, chopped

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

a handful of fresh basil leaves, chopped

1/4 cup toasted walnuts (or any other nut you like)

a dash of crushed red pepper flakes

Salt and pepper to taste

Place it all in a food processor or blender and press the button!  Mix until desired consistency.

Serve on top of some whole wheat pasta like we did.

We have some leftovers that will taste great as a pizza base!  Yum

 

Have a great evening.  Hopefully you will sleep as well as Henry and me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to long weekend

  1. projectbeetjuice says:

    Hi there,

    I have been following your blog for some time now. I have to say, I don’t usually make the time for a couple other blogs that I thought I would be interested in, but I ALWAYS make time to read yours. I am excited when I see a new post in my inbox! So, thank you! My fiance and I have a dream of owning our own farm one day, and I find your day to day happenings quite inspiring. We currently live in southern CT but plan to move further north (MA, NH, or VT) in the next few years. We also have a black lab, so I love hearing about Henry. 🙂

    Cheers!
    Kristin

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks for the lovely comment. So happy you are following along on the blog. I encourage anyone who wants to get into farming to do so! it is the best decision my husband and I have ever made! good luck looking for land!

  2. Carrie Link says:

    Way to make lemonade, uh, I mean pesto, out of such a bummer! Sorry to hear that!!

  3. Jean says:

    Hope this does not jeopardize your marathon. The pesto sounds good and I happen to have a jar of roasted peppers, so….

  4. Liz D says:

    Ok Andrea…how is the leg? I know you are a few weeks out till Boston, what is the status?? I’m incredibly sorry to hear…but hopefully a few days of rest and you’ll be back at it. PS saw your nephew…your mom is right….SO handsome!

    • drealieberg says:

      hey Liz! thanks for the comment. my leg is not good. it’s my IT band and I am going to need to rest it for a few weeks. Marathon training is totally on hold. not sure if I will be able to run it. Major bummer. I know you can relate! Are you out of your boot?
      So glad you finally got to meet Blaise! isn’t he the greatest!

  5. Liz D says:

    Sorry just saw your message….bummer on the IT Band…..I hope you are recovering well. Yes Blaise is the best….so adorable….I think Amy has a book deal in her future on parenting. I was cracking up she is so funny and great with Blaise….he is so handsome! I’m out of the boot and running again thanks…your mom is keeping me in check this time! I have a LONG history of IT BAND issues back in college and needed to have surgery because of it, I have the run the gamut on therapy so let me know if you want some unsolicited advice 🙂 You have the right attitude…there is always another year! Hope you are well hi to the boys for me!

Leave a Reply

