a can of chickpeas

I learned something very valuable last night.

Did you know that if you start with a can of chickpeas your meal will be amazing?!

It will.  Trust me.

We are busy trying to eat everything in our pantry/refrigerator because we are not going to be eating many meals at home over the holiday.

So in an effort to avoid the grocery store and use everything we have I have been forced to be creative.  And guess what, being creative in the kitchen is really fun.

This lovely photo is a picture of our last meal.  Chickpeas with broccoli, cauliflower, and bacon.  Yep, bacon made an appearance and almost stole the show.  But to be honest, the real highlight was the chickpeas.  Amazing.

This is a great meal to make using everything you’ve got at home.  You can substitute any of the veggies or bacon for whatever you have.  The lesson here is that a can of chickpeas can go a long way.

Here is what I did:

Chopped up some broccolie

Chopped up some cauliflower,

diced up some bacon

diced up a yellow onion

diced up 6 cloves of garlic

Pinch of dried oregano

a few pinches of crushed red pepper

salt and pepper

1 can of chickpeas, rinsed and drained

I first cooked up my chopped bacon.  While that was cooking I steamed my broccoli and cauliflower for a few minutes.  Just until they were crisp tender. Then I removed my bacon from the pan. I added the onion to the bacon fat and Sauteed for a few minutes.  Add the garlic.  Add the oregano and crushed red pepper. Stir.  Add the chickpeas and veggies.  Stir in the bacon.  Remove from heat when everything is heated through.

Serve with some parmesan cheese and a glass of wine.  Delicious.

I am heading out the door to grab a Gingerbread Latte from Starbucks.  Call me crazy, but I love those things. It’s almost Christmas after all, so I feel it is necessary to treat myself.  If you haven’t tried one get ready for a sugar rush.  They are great!

Happy Friday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to a can of chickpeas

  1. Mary Ryckman says:

    Merry Christmas Andra – love to check on you every day to see whats cooking and check on Taylor and Henry!! I wish a Very Merry Christmas and Great new year – love you Aunt Mary

  2. sundya says:

    wishing you, Taylor and Henry a very wonderful holiday and a peaceful new year!! xo

    chickpeas are amazing..that dish looks so good!! I add them to my pasta with some sauteed onions, veggies, olive oil and garlic…they are also yummy crisped up in a saute pan with olive oil, s & p and some herbs (make sure they are rinsed and dried a bit before you add them to the pan

  3. Jean says:

    Love that combination and the beautiful picture. I cook like this all the time and like to see your take on different combos.

    Hope you and yours have a very Merry Christmas and may all the joy you have brought us return to you many times over in the new year.

  4. Leslie says:

    Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Gramma Marianne says:

      Merry Christmas to you, Taylor and Henry. We had a lovely Christmas Eve dinner with seafood etouffee (made for the first time) over jasmine rice. Was to die for. I combined the cajun and creole recipes for a western version and served it w/salad and cheesecake.
      Love reading your food blogs………..esp. the “clean out the fridge and pantry” ones. My favorite way to cook…..inventing dinner from nothing.

  5. Ceci says:

    That looks AMAZING! Happy Christmas & New Year!

Leave a Reply

