it’s officially christmas time

We spent a gorgeous Saturday afternoon searching for the perfect Christmas tree with my in-laws.

The weather made it hard to believe Christmas in only a few weeks away.

Sunny and in the 50’s.  Totally weird.

But that didn’t stop us from getting into the spirit.  Taylor cut down a beautiful tree for his parents house.

Once we had my in-laws tree strapped to the car I got busy searching for our tree.

Since we basically live in a shoebox our tree needed to be on the small size.  And small it is.

But now that it is home and decorated with lights it really brightens up the place.  Even if it’s only 3 ft tall!

We had to put it up high because Henry lifted a leg as soon as he saw it in the house!  Yes he’s potty trained, but a tree in the house is apparently very confusing! I can’t blame him.

But isn’t it a lovely tree?

There are a lot of things about Christmas that I don’t like.  For example, shopping.  I hate Christmas shopping more than anything.  But I do love all the houses in town decorated with lights, wreathes, and of course trees.   And I love all the get-togethers that surround Christmas.  My favorite thing about this time of year is cooking in my kitchen with a glass of wine, Christmas music playing in the background, and a fire roaring in the living room.  It is wonderful.

Last night Taylor and I enjoyed a very simple meal of roasted veggies over couscous.

We roasted sweet potatoes, broccoli, brussels sprouts, and green beens in a 425 degree oven for 20 minutes.  Served over couscous with a drizzle of olive oil, salt, and pepper for a wonderfully simple meal.

Enjoy your Sunday.  And if you are out there Christmas shopping I should send you money and a list of things I need to get!!!!  Have a great day everyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to it’s officially christmas time

  1. amy leclerc says:

    I love that tree! Low maintenance, but gets you in the spirit. Cute! It is cold here and feels like winter for sure. We got our tree today too. We were trying for under 5 ft ($20 vs. $40) but apparently Hervé didn’t quite cut enough off the trunk. Oh well!

    Enjoy!

    • drealieberg says:

      Hopefully I will be home soon enough to see your tree?! baby get moving!!! I have a feeling we are going to have an X-mas niece/nephew!!! I can’t wait! XOXXOOXOOO

  2. Liz D says:

    So the kids and I watched the Smurf’s last night and we all decided you look exactly like Jayma Mays….google her…she’s your twin! Hope you guys are well was great seeing you over Thanksgiving!

  3. Charlotte says:

    I can’t help but notice that the tree behind Taylor in that first picture is QUITE the fatty— any chance that’s the one in our living room!?!?!?!?!?!

    Nah, I’m kidding… sort of. I trust you guys! And dear ol’ Dad said you all picked a BEAUTY!

    SEE YOU IN A WEEK (and a day…)! I have some fun Christmas foods that I just learned how to make that I have to show yoU!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

