more butternut

Okay, I know you are all probably getting sick of butternut squash recipes. I can’t blame you!

But what you don’t know is that I have about 20 butternut squash hidden throughout our house! I need to use them up because they are taking up too much space.

I could have hoarded something a lot worse so count yourselves lucky. But if your skin starts turning orange then we may have a problem!

Now onto this lovely little recipe I came up with. I had some leftover butternut squash purée from our lasagna the other night.

20111207-094213.jpg

This purée was so good we had been dipping crackers in it all day.

But since there was still plenty left I decided to make some quesadillas. Boy am I glad we had tortillas on hand. These were amazing. Simple too!

20111207-094537.jpg

Black bean and butternut squash quesadillas. Heaven in your mouth.

What you need: for two people
4 tortillas
1 1/2 cups butternut squash purée
1 cup soft goat cheese
1 can black beans
1 yellow onion diced
Juice of one lime
1 bunch cilantro (some chopped, some left whole)
1 tsp. Cumin
Sour cream

Sauté onions until soft. Add beans. Cook for about 5 minutes. Transfer to a bowl. spread goat cheese onto tortilla. Add squash, bean mixture, and chopped cilantro. Place other tortilla on top. In a greased skillet cook tortilla for about 3 minutes per side over medium heat. Serve hot with sour cream mixed with juice of one lime and a dash of cumin. Garnish with cilantro. Yum!

20111207-095908.jpg

So easy and so good.

Henry slept through the whole thing.

20111207-100016.jpg
How sweet does that look?! Love him.

Have a great day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to more butternut

  1. Leese says:

    Looks like heaven to me!

  2. Trish says:

    I love butternut squash! you can never give us too many recipes. You are so creative with it!. Henry looks so delightful. Makes me want to go out and find a yellow lab puppy. I am watching a friends puppy for a few days next week so I will get my puppy fix without adding to our pack of 4 dogs (but all grown, no puppies).

    • Gramma Marianne says:

      Another b’nut squash lover!!! And the more recipes the better………..I will try this one!

    • drealieberg says:

      Trish,

      What kind of dogs do you have? I always dream of getting another dog so Henry has a sibling, but I can’t imagine 4 dogs!! (actually, it sort of sounds amazing!!) what do you have?

  3. Jean says:

    Great recipe I will try soon. I agree that tortillas are God’s gift to leftovers. Henry looks wonderful. Lucky dog….

  4. Merry says:

    Looks amazing and simple. I cannot wait to try this!

Leave a Reply

