home is where henry is….

I’d be lying if I said I was not sad to leave Portland.  My friends, family, pregnant sister!!  I love so many people back there.  Not only was the food amazing, the wine was unbelievable, and the company was out of this world.  Laughter all week long!  If you can get past the rain, Portland is the best place on earth in my mind. (And yes, I have been to Europe!)

Taylor tried to comfort me on the plane. But all I could think of was how I forgot to get my Mom’s Turkey Soup recipe before we left. Or how I forgot to take a picture of my sister one last time before I see her as a mom. (By the way, she is the most beautiful pregnant person I have ever seen!) I’m already missing my dad, brother, and brother-in-law.  We had such a great vacation.

However, as soon as I thought I left my heart in Oregon, I came home to this face:

Yes, Henry was anxiously awaiting our arrival.  It was so great seeing him again.  He came right out of my in-laws house and jumped up on us. Licking our faces and not stopping for a break! It was great!

He is totally back to his normal self.  It feels so great to be home with him.  In a few months all the hair from his scar will fill in, and we will totally forget how awful last month was.

We are going to spend the evening hanging out with Henry, eating homemade pizza, and watching tv.  A very exciting night at our household!

Hope you all had a wonderful holiday weekend.

We are happy to be home. The apple trees need us this winter (we are pruning) However, I still miss Oregon.  I guess you can never be too old to get homesick.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to home is where henry is….

  1. sundya says:

    glad you’re home and back with Henry! All this talk about Portland has made me really want to plan a trip out there! We spend our vacations with Gary’s parent every year and this year they’re coming out to Hawaii…but, recently his mom mentioned taking a trip out to Portland. It may not be till next year though. When we start to plan it, I’ll definitely have to ask about places to see and restaurants dine at. Oh and the wine…I can’t wait for that! xo

    • drealieberg says:

      You should definitely check out Portland. Summer and Fall are the best time of year. But really you can go anytime. The food is AMAZING! Better than any other city I have been to. The people are nice, the culture is funky, and you will have a blast. Definitely let me know if you plan a trip there! I can point you in all sorts of directions! And I will definitely holler if Taylor and I ever make it to Hawaii. A dream of ours!!!

  2. amy leclerc says:

    We miss you too! Consider yourself very lucky. You have a home and family in Oregon and a healthy dog and wonderful bounty in MA! I am so glad you got to come back to Henry as his old self. Pretty unbelievable given everything that has happened.

    Your pregnant sister might be slightly waddling at this point?! OMG. The baby is kicking big time and I think s/he is planning on somersaulting right out of the womb!

    Can’t wait to get you and Uncle Tay back here…it always goes too fast.

    XOXO

    • drealieberg says:

      Can’t wait to meet the baby in January. This little guy/gal is sure going to make it hard to be far away. Thank god for air travel! see you next month!! can you believe it???
      XOXOXO

  3. Trish says:

    What a lovely post! you are lucky to be from Portland, it sounds like an amazing place. My husband and I have vouchers for a flight discount, and Portland is one place we are looking at visiting- to soak up the great forward-thinking culture and to EAT!

    Henry looks smoochalicious in that photo. So glad he is better. Isn’t it wonderful to come home to such a greeting?

    • drealieberg says:

      Trish,
      If you ever make it to Portland let me know! I can point you in all sorts of directions. It is a magical place and I am lucky to call it home!

  4. Ceci says:

    I ♥ Oregon!!

    Glad you had such a great time! Nothing like having family around you at the holidays! And in such a beautiful place! Of course Henry missed you terribly & is glad you’re back. Can’t wait to see what you are feeding us this season!!

Leave a Reply

