tractor driving 101

Today, as the clouds started to roll in, I climbed aboard a giant John Deere tractor.

Now lets get this straight, I have been on a tractor before.  I drove it about 20ft earlier this summer. Which if you ask me is a big deal!

But today, I actually had work to get done on the tractor.

Heck, the apple orchards aren’t going to mow themselves!

As I climbed aboard the monster tractor my reflexes kicked in as I struggled to look for a seatbelt.

“Tractors don’t have seatbelts.” My loving husband informed me.

I couldn’t help but be disappointed.  I mean the roads around the farm are full of potholes.  I was worried I was going to be launched out of the damn thing!

“Saddle up.” Taylor said.

“Should I be wearing a helmet since I don’t have a seatbelt? I mean, aren’t there laws?”

Apparently not.  Take a look at my first “real” job on the tractor!

I think I did a pretty darn good job!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to tractor driving 101

  1. Korinda says:

    That’s so cool! Good job!

  2. Beth says:

    Congratulations – from your earlier posts, we learned that it’s like a graduation for a young farmer to drive the tractor.
    But please help us understand why it’s important to do any mowing in November – wouldn’t that damage the grass because frost is likely? And why mow an orchard at this time of year?
    Thanks!

  3. Karen Anne says:

    Beth, the last lawn mowing takes place here in RI about now. You don’t want the grass too high over winter or it will mat down.

  4. frekky says:

    Woo hoo! Great Job!

  5. Jean says:

    Looks like you are clearly in the second semester of Tractor 101. Congratulations. Can’t wait for those Sister of Fortunes next year. Lots of hard work between now and then, but think of all that upper body strength!

Leave a Reply

