truckin along

I can’t believe it’s already mid November!   Where has the time gone?  I am embracing the change though, it has been really nice working on the farm with minimal stress.  Recently, our “off season” duties have kept us busy, but not rushed, which is my favorite way to work.

We never get to sit on the job, so a nice break on a straw bale was a welcome change. Shhh, don’t tell our farm manager!

Some of our recent duties have been planting next seasons garlic and mulching it for the winter.

Driving a truck stacked high with a bunch of straw really makes you feel like a farmer.  We all loved it!

However, the novelty wore off quickly. I still have straw in my clothing and a rash on my arms.

But…..we have nicely covered rows of garlic.  I guess it’s worth it.

The only thing missing is not having Henry tag along with us.

He’s almost there.  After Thanksgiving he will be able to come prune apple trees with us.

I am sure he can’t wait.  Me on the other hand, I’m not so sure how I feel about pruning apple trees in the winter again.  Brrrrrrrr.

Alright, off to work a little more.  Potato leek soup is on the menu for later.  One of my favorites!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to truckin along

  1. Mary Ryckman says:

    Boy I am so glad to hear that Henry is up an around. What we dog lovers will not do to keep our very best friends going. Henry always sort lookings like he is smiling and I can help but think that he really is a Happy dog, because he knows he is loved. I had to call your dad to make sure all was well with Henry last week. I haven’t gotten to pet Henry but you have to know I would surely love to have him come and visit!! Love ya, your goofy mt aunt mary

  2. Beth says:

    Thanks for posting such interesting pieces on winter farming chores.
    Helps us non-farmers gain a better understanding of your work.
    Please keep ’em coming…
    And thanks for updating your readers on Henry!

  3. martha says:

    your work and passion for food are inspirational. as is your love for Henry. I am so very happy to see he is getting better. thank you for your stories 🙂

  4. Jean says:

    Hope you planted lots of garlic. There never seems to be enough of that delicious hard stem variety you grow.
    So very glad to see Henry up and around if within confines. Animals are such stoics. Surely he knows he hit the lottery when he found you two to care for him.

  5. sundya says:

    Henry looks so much better and he’s outside!! Glad those straw bales were there to give you a little rest!
    xo

  6. Amanda says:

    Henry still looks so sad 😦 But he does look better.

  7. Sue says:

    Henry looks better. Thanks for educating us on your Fall/Winter chores…it is much appreciated for us non-farmers.

Leave a Reply

