brussels sprouts

I have an addiction.

My addiction is green, delicious, and hated by children everywhere.

Sometime over the past few decades brussles sprouts earned a bad reputation.

I blame the 60’s.  Frozen brussles sprouts anyone?

However, I am here to change the way you look at brussels sprouts.  I go out in the rain and snow to harvest these guys and they are worth  it.

(armed with clippers and a giant rain coat. I mean business when it comes to my favorite winter veggie!)

If you don’t like brussels sprouts I have three words for you. Butter And Garlic.

I like my brussels roasted, sauteed, and even broiled.  But the method below is my favorite.  The recipe was from the New York Times a few years ago.  Try it out!

(Question:  Did any of you grow up hating brussels sprouts? I know I did!)

Ingredients:

  • 1 pint brussels sprouts (about a pound)
  • 4 to 6 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, to coat bottom of pan
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • Directions
  • 1. Heat oven to 450 degrees. Trim bottom of brussels sprouts, and slice each in half top to bottom. Heat oil in cast-iron pan over medium-high heat until it shimmers; put sprouts cut side down in one layer in pan. Put in garlic, and sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  • 2. Cook, undisturbed, until sprouts begin to brown on bottom, and transfer to oven. Cook, shaking pan occasionally, until sprouts are quite brown and tender, about 1/2 hour.
  • 3. Taste, and add more salt and pepper if necessary. Stir in balsamic vinegar, and serve hot or warm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to brussels sprouts

  1. Liza says:

    oh my god yum!

  2. Leslie says:

    Tried your baked apples last night and it was a success. We loved them. Thanks for the recipe and sooooooooo easy !

  3. Karen Anne says:

    Brussels sprouts smell odd to me. Maybe that’s the way they’re cooked?

  4. Ceci says:

    HATED brussels sprouts growing up. But, ya know?… butter & garlic make EVERYTHING taste great. Maybe I’ll try one. 🙂

  5. matthew kunnari says:

    Yum! Brussels sprouts and bacon are a really good combo too with some parmesan cheese. Double yum!

  6. HeidiK says:

    Ooh, I HATED Brussels sprouts as a kid… but who could blame me, really — they were served up all boiled and stinky! But now I love the little cabbage-esque beasties — because I roast ’em in the oven with either butter or olive oil, bringing out the sweetness and banishing all bitterness.

    I like the idea in your recipe of starting them on the cooktop and then transferring to the oven…

Leave a Reply

