cross your fingers

The threat of hurricane Irene is very real at Hutchins Farm.

Please cross your fingers for only minor damage to come our way.  The forecast is looking pretty grim with high winds and a lot of rain.  Uggg…..

The only thing I can think to do at a time like this is cook.  Cook, and pick a lot of green tomatoes. (They will ripen eventually!)

Anyways, Taylor and I were both in the mood for comfort food tonight.  We worked out in the rain this afternoon and wanted something hearty and delicious to simmer down with.

Since I was feeling bummed about the weather forecast I turned to 4 ingredients that have never let me down.

bacon, leeks, mushrooms, and gruyere cheese.   (It’s all about the comfort food tonight!)

And thank you Leese for giving me inspiration to make quesadillas.  It was definitely a quesadilla night in our household.  And with my 4 favorite ingredients on hand, I knew I couldn’t go wrong.

Mushroom leek quesadillas:

3 leeks, finely chopped (white and light green parts only)

2 cups mushrooms (i used cremini)

3 strips bacon

1 cup gruyere cheese

2 flour tortillas

1.  cook your bacon.  Once done, remove from heat and set aside.  Crumble into bite sized pieces once it’s cool enough. Keep the pan, bacon fat and all, reserved for the other ingredients.

2. cook you leeks in the bacon fat for about 3 minutes over medium heat.

3.  add your mushrooms.  cook over medium heat until cooked through.  About 6-8 minutes.

4.  Assemble your tortillas.  Layer cheese, leek and mushroom mixture, and crumbled bacon.

5.  Add more oil to the same pan.  Cook the tortillas for about 3 minutes per side.  Enjoy!

Garnish with sour cream and parsley.  Yum!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to cross your fingers

  1. Jean says:

    I want one of those now!

    Our supper was Hutchins Farm veggie hash that is a riff on the British bubble and squeak. Started with bacon and leek like your quesadilla. Then add scallion, carrot, potato, cabbage, swiss chard, edamame, fresh herbs, a little vermouth and a touch of cream. The leftovers will be breakfast under a Pete & Jen’s poached egg.

    Sounds like Irene is weakening a bit. Let’s hope so.

  2. Julie says:

    We’ll be thinking about you!

  3. Leese says:

    Oh my, Andrea, that looks absolutely scrumptious! Nothing beats cooking to calm the nerves when you’re facing the possible wrath of a hurricane. [believe me, I know from experience]
    We’ll be thinking of you,Taylor,Henry,your crops and that beautiful landmark of a tree of yours
    now and during the hours to come. Stay safe and keep us posted.

  4. Heather and Molly says:

    Hi Andrea! so glad you are back to blogging. I love hearing what you are up to on the farm! Okay, so i have to give you the Murphy quick summer meal but i don’t really have much of a recipe. It is just tomatoes ( I have used romas or cherry or a combination) and summer squash with a little garlic thrown in. You start with a little olive oil in a saute pan over med ish and then add the summer squash, stir it around for a couple minutes and then add the tomatoes. Stir it around for a couple more minutes adding salt and pepper to taste and finally add some fresh chopped garlic and give it about 1-2 more minutes. We serve it with pasta and parmesan or over grilled chicken. It is yummy, easy and fast. Hope you like it!

    Stay safe and dry!
    Love,
    Heather

    • drealieberg says:

      Heather!
      I love your quick summer meal. When it warms up here next week I will definitely try this out. I love the idea of topping it on grilled chicken. Yum!

      Hope you guys are staying cool back there. I know my parents are melting in their house!

      Thanks for reading along. Hi to the girls for me!
      XO

  5. Karen Anne says:

    I hope everything went well. We did okay here in RI, at least in my area, so I am thinking perhaps you did as well?

  6. korinda says:

    Hope everyone is alright!

Leave a Reply

