i did it!

Guess who had her first day driving the tractor?

Alright, to be honest I didn’t even do any farm work.  It was just a practice drive.  And I did it yesterday after work.  However, as someone who does not even own a car, this was a big deal!  I think my dad will be proud.

Speaking of farm work, check out this car full of onions.

(the photo is strange because Taylor is fooling around with the new features on his camera!)

Me, Taylor, and our farm friend Amanda harvested a ton of red onions this afternoon.  The crates were heavy!

But we get to cross onions off our to do list and that feels pretty darn good.  My arms on the other hand….they feel pretty tired!

But weak arms and all, Taylor and I managed to make an easy dinner that cured all our aches and pains.

This pasta dish is full of summer squash, green beans, cherry tomatoes and pesto.  It tasted so fresh and only took 25 minutes to make! You can’t beat that.

What all do you make for dinner when you are in a hurry?  I need more ideas!

Have a great night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to i did it!

  1. Leslie says:

    Glad you are back and I am still here to see your pics and recipes ! Our garden is almost done for the growing season. It has been a very very very hot summer here in North Carolina. Hurricane season in full force and could use the rain to come. College football season a week or 2 away. Can’t wait to tailgate with friends and cheer on our favorite teams. Went to the blue ridge mountains last weekend and fall is in the air up there at night. Took a wonderful trip of a lifetime to Italy and London this summer and my oldest son got married 2 weekends ago. The whole wedding weekend was perfect, wonderful and very special. And we love our new daughter-in-law ! So that fills you in on all of us and all is well here, Abby and Tucker send there hellos (woofs) to Henry. Looking forward to your new posts ! and glad to see you back ! Hello to you two as well !

  2. Rose Mary says:

    Welcome back. Your great posts were missed.

  3. Julie says:

    When I’m in a hurry I head for the cous-cous. Chop up a bunch of veggies to stir fry, throw in some parmesan or feta cheese, mix it all up with the cous-cous and there ya go! Or pizza…if I have made dough ahead of time…

  4. Leese says:

    It’s been so hot and humid here in South Florida that I’ve sworn off using the oven until Oct. and I limit my cooking stints to 15 min. or less. My big go to dinner this summer has been Quesadillas.I found these high fiber wraps [the Tortilla Factory] sprinkle them with shredded cheese,add thinly sliced veggies [onion,tomatoes,jalapenos] maybe add some quickly sauteed veggies [mushrooms,peppers,spinich,zucchini] protein if you feel like it [bacon,ham,shrimp, shredded chicken] there are endless combos to try. It’s like a no bake pizza.With a green salad it’s a perfect 10 min. meal as long as you do a little prep work before hand. So it’s either that or steamed shellfish{clams,mussels or shrimp] 4 minutes ,and a salad. Let Taylor know I’m loving the photos.The top picture of you driving the tractor is so crisp and vivid! Love the beautiful colors!!! So happy you’re back!!!!!

  5. Jean says:

    So so happy to have you back. Put that tractor picture in the “Show to grandchildren” file. It’s great.
    My fast supper is penne caprese with fresh basil, fresh mozzarella, a touch of garlic, really good olive oil (favorite is Olio Santo) and a bit of pasta water. I also do fine egg noodles with peas (or edamame), cumin, parmesan and mascarpone (or cream or creme fraiche) along with pasta water to make a bit of a sauce. And there is always raiding the freezer for meatloaf muffins with some fresh roasted veggies.
    Hugs to Henry.

  6. eric lieberg says:

    Never in my life did I envision my little girl as a farmer much less on a tractor!!! But hey, you never cease to amaze me and yes, I’m really, really proud of you. Keep up the good work.
    Love to you, T and H,
    D

  7. Charlotte says:

    THE NEW FARM SHIRTS ARE SO COOL!!!!!!!!! Even cooler than I imagined after the lengthy description. SWEET.

  8. KS says:

    Your blog is food to my soul! So glad you’re back.
    Must ask what camera you have and what setting you’re using? – the clarity is incredible!

    hugs to Henry

Leave a Reply

