something fresh

Summer!

I know summer is in full force for a number of reasons.

1. When the weatherman says it’s going to COOL down to 85 degrees.

2. Having an aggressive and unfortunate farmers tan.

3. Mosquito bites on every inch of my arms and legs.

4. Dirt in my toenails, fingernails, and other unexplainable places.

But most importantly, I know it’s summer because of food like this:

Sometimes a bowl full of tomatoes, green beans, garlic and basil is just what the doctor ordered.

So if you feel like celebrating summer in the best way possible, make this.  And you should probably enjoy this meal with a glass of rose’.  Why not?  We are celebrating summer after all.

So here is what you do. First, cook up your favorite pasta. I chose bow ties.

Then steam your green beans.

Chop up some cherry tomatoes, garlic, and basil.

Mix everything together with the cooked pasta.  Add olive oil and salt.  Chill in the fridge for a couple of hours.  Serve with a side of arugula salad.  BAM! Summertime in your mouth!

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to something fresh

  1. Ceci says:

    Bright, beautiful, colorful food it the best thing on a hot summer day! I love this salad. Looks great and tastes great! Yummyoo!

  2. ooo, the sunflowers look gorgeous! Ours are fall sunflowers so I’m jealous you get to enjoy them in the summer months:) I’m definitely going to put this salad recipe in my recipe box – so easy and so refreshing after a hot day in the sun, full or bug bites and farmers tan:)

  3. HeidiK says:

    This salad does look very refreshing!! Wait — where’s the bacon?! Just kidding 🙂

    Yeah, I agree on the “cooling down to 85” craziness… it’s been just broiling here in Chicago too — but I’m not toiling in the fields!! Whoo, I can just imagine how you guys are feeling…

    I prescribe popsicles for all — but the grown up kind with lots of fruit and some liquor thrown in for good measure 🙂

  4. natalie says:

    This is right up my alley: pasta + veggies. Perfect! 🙂

    Be happy you have any kind of tan, even a farmer’s tan: as someone who can stay out all day and not tan, I’m jealous. (I freckle instead of tanning, which was cute when I was 10, and is less so now that I’m almost 32.)

  5. Sue says:

    Lovely salad! Refreshing and filling!!

  6. Jean says:

    Hope all at Hutchins have a good plan to stay cool and hydrated over the next few days. Looks like it will be brutal weather in the fields and want you all safe and well.

    • drealieberg says:

      oh Jean, it was brutal today! I am anxious for this heat spell to end. Thanks for thinking about us!

Leave a Reply

