beet-a-holic

Guess who has a new friend…

Aren’t they cute?

Thanks James and Mary for bringing Emmie to the farm.  Henry fell in love!

And speaking of love.  I have a new appetizer I want to share with you all.  Not only is it delicious, but it is beautiful. And if you like beetza you will love this!

Isn’t it pretty?

I have been eating so many beets recently that I am beginning to turn into one.  My skin has a purplish glow!

Random fact: I was a beet in the earth day parade a few months ago. I am obsessed!

Anyway, back to the appetizer.  It is easy (easier than beetza) and a real crowd pleaser. Plus the leftover beet spread tastes amazing on sandwiches.

Here is what you need:

4-5 purple beets, boiled

1 bunch curly kale, torn into bite sized pieces

1/3 cup goat cheese

3 tbs extra virgin olive oil

Parmesan cheese

walnuts

1 baguette of crusty bread

in a food processor combine your boiled beets, goat cheese, and oil.  Set aside.  Slice up your bread and spread the beet spread evenly over all the slices.  Top with a few walnuts, a piece of kale, and parmesan cheese.  Place in a 400 degree oven until toasted.  About 5-7 minutes.  Enjoy.

I am off to work in the farm stand today.  It will be a nice break for the hot field!  Have a great day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to beet-a-holic

  1. Karen Anne says:

    Henry and his friend look great! I hope they get to see each other often.

    You should try Harvard beets if you like sweet and sour:
    http://www.bartleby.com/87/r0762.html

    I make those with cider vinegar. And then you can eat them with spaghetti and have pink spaghetti 🙂

  2. Julie says:

    Henry looks SO happy! That is a great picture. And the beet recipe sounds yummy!

  3. natalie says:

    Oh, yum! That looks delicious!

    (And what a cute beet you make. You have me cracking up!)

  4. sundya says:

    Henry’s new girl!! she’s beautiful!! I will definitely try the beet recipe…yum!

  5. liza says:

    i want that. next time you are making that for me. promise?

    Also- I LOVE YOU AS A BEET! I am so glad there is photographic evidence!!

  6. Leslie says:

    Henry and his new friend, so sweet !!!!!!!!!!!!! Wow has he come a long way !!!!!!!!!!!! He is a lucky dog !!!!!!!!!

    • drealieberg says:

      I know! He really is lucky. But so are we! It’s amazing what a dog can contribute to a family! He is the best!

  7. Jean says:

    Henry’s smiling. ‘Nuf said.

  8. HeidiK says:

    Oh my goodness… Henry — happiest doggle EVER?!? Sweet picture!!

Leave a Reply

