recovery food

Just when I thought it couldn’t get any hotter………I turned on my oven!!!!

You see, the heat makes me a little crazy.

So does picking peas for 3 hours.

And staking tomatoes makes me crazy too.

So when I stumbled home yesterday after work (bloodied and blistered I might add) I knew only one thing could cure my aches and pains.

Farm fresh pizza. (drizzled with bacon fat of course.)

If you have experienced a hard day at work recently, this pizza will set you straight.

Here is what you will need to do:

First, purchase your dough.  (If you are more on top of it than me you can make it ahead of time)

Then make some pesto.  You can substitute the garlic scapes from that recipe with cloves, but only use about half.  Unless you like a lot of garlic which I do!  (this only takes a few minutes and is better than store bought)

Then fry up 3 slices of bacon.  Reserve the fat.  When the bacon is cool tear it into small pieces

Slice up one small new potato.  Very thinly.

Slice up a zucchini. Very thinly

Wash and tear up some fresh curly kale into bite size pieces

Grate up some extra sharp cheddar cheese (about 1 cup)

Assemble your pizza.

First spread on the pesto.

Second, sprinkle half of the cheese

Third, layer the potato and zucchini

Fourth, sprinkle your bacon

Fifth, layer on your kale

Sixth, sprinkle the rest of the cheese

Seventh, drizzle the bacon fat over the whole pizza!!!

Pop it into a 400 degree oven for 15 minutes.  Enjoy hot!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to recovery food

  1. Jean says:

    Oh, Andrea– I am having a hard time not licking my computer screen. That pizza is a winner and just might be tomorrow’s dinner. These past few days must have been real bears at the farm — but such yummy peas. Take care.

  2. Sue says:

    Congrats Andrea on moving to your new home. The recipe looks absolutely delicious. I’ll try it.

  3. Sue says:

    Sorry misspelt your name.

Leave a Reply

