a first…

Alright, there is no beating around the bush for this one.  I am a virgin when it comes to collard greens.  In fact, I am almost embarrassed to admit that I have never cooked/eaten them in my life.

Until tonight that is!

I’ve spent hours planting, weeding, and harvesting these guys.  There is NO excuse to not try them.

However, since I am an amateur, I tried something weird and “safe” with the collards.  Essentially, I disguised  them and made Taylor think they were a burrito wrap.

Guess what….it worked!  I know this is not that traditional way to eat collards.  However, it worked really well for us  beginners.

Here is the recipe for Collard Burritos:

5 large collard greens (cut in half at the stem)

1 cup cooked rice

1/2 cup cooked chicken

1/2 cup sautéed veggies (such as summer squash, peppers, onions, mushrooms, ect)

1/3 Dried cranberries

1/3 cup crushed walnuts

Parmesan cheese

A homemade marinade of your choice (or store-bought)

Boil some water.  Add your collard greens.  Cook for about 1-2 minutes.  Until they turn bright green.  Remove from water.  Set aside.

Mix your cooked rice with veggies, cranberries, nuts, chicken and sauce.  Place a few tbs of the mixture onto each collard green.  Roll up like a burrito.  Place on a cookie sheet.  Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes.  Enjoy hot!

My recipe for summer squash pizza will have to wait.  Along with my lesson on how to preserve all your favorite summertime goodies. It’s past this farmers bedtime!  Enjoy your evening everyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a first…

  1. natalie says:

    That’s a great idea! I’ve seen people make burritos and wraps with lettuce instead of a tortilla and, to be honest, I never had a desire to try it. But I love, love, love collard greens (maybe because I grew up in the South!) and could see them working really well with the flavors of the burrito.

  2. Karen Anne says:

    Sometimes I use cabbage leaves to wrap stuff, esp. in the winter when lettuce is not so good.

Leave a Reply

