breakfast of champions

I have a wonderful summer squash pizza recipe to share with you all.

Along with a lesson on how to preserve some of you favorite summertime ingredients.

Unfortunately, you will have to wait until after work to hear about it all!  I am behind with blogging, housework, and my life in general! But today I plan on catching up with it all.  Plus, I am starting today off on the right foot.

This homemade granola with a banana and some yogurt.  With a side of strong black coffee.

Work should be good.  We have winter squash to plant and I think I get a few hours up in the farm stand.  Which should be a nice break.  See you all after dinner.  We are cooking with collard greens tonight! It will be a first for me.  Exciting!

Have a great day.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to breakfast of champions

  1. Julie says:

    Add a little sugar (like 1-2 tsp) to the collard greens to keep them from being bitter – Trust me, I’m from Georgia…we know how to cook collards 😉

    • drealieberg says:

      Julie,

      Do you have any good collard recipes?? I just made them into burritos (which turned out awesome) but I need more inspiration!!!
      Let me know! you southerners know how to cook your collards!!!

  2. Julie says:

    I saw your burritos! BLASPHEMY! LOL! My great-grandmother would roll over in her grave…but hey, I like your creativity 😉 Ok, here’s what you do (if you have several hours)…it’s best if you have a ham hock, but you can make do without. Get a huge bunch of collards and a 5 qt cooking pot. Add like 3 quarts of water, salt, and some butter (1-2 tbsp) and bring that to a boil. In the meantime, cut the collard leaves into 1/2-1 inch pieces and make sure to get rid of the big stem down the middle. Put those into the pot and stir…let them cook down for like an hour (oh, and add in some sugar)…or until the water cooks out, then add butter and salt to taste. I like to have baked chicken or something with mine…or cornbread if you’re really being southern 😉

    You could also just saute them in butter (and a little sugar) for a bit and then add them to sauteed squash and onions too.

    • drealieberg says:

      HaHa!! Thanks for the tips and recipe. I will prepare my collards like this next time. (Don’t want to disappoint Grandma!!!)

      Yum Yum!!! thanks for the tip about the sugar as well!

Leave a Reply

