i may have died a little…

I never thought the day would come when I was willing to give my overall well-being to the food I put in my body.

I know that sounds silly.  Your well-being and food go hand in hand right?  But still…

Does the vitamin K I get from our kale counteract heat stroke?

Does hoeing endless rows of carrots, beets, and onions in 98 degree weather help to absorb their nutrients more?  ( I am pretending the answer is yes!)

Will eating lots of fresh basil sooth my sunburned arms? (of course. Right?!)

Does sunscreen even work when it’s 98 degrees out?

Probably not. But a nice cold beer does wonders for the skin.

In case you were all guessing, today was a particularly hard day at the Farm.  I may have even shed a few exhausted tears on our way home from work.  But hey, beer is good for that too, right!

I am actually SO tired that I will not post whatever we end up cooking tonight until tomorrow.  However, here is a sneak peek:

Right before we left work we harvested arugula, summer squash, swiss chard, and garlic scapes. Summer really is here.  Along with ticks, sunburns, and dehydration!  No pain, no gain!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to i may have died a little…

  1. Karen Anne says:

    Ca you start working way early in the morning and later in the afternoon, and skip high noon? Although I think you already mentioned your day starts very early.

  2. Sue says:

    It IS very hot. Take care, drink a lot of water, and yes, do watch what you eat (although you are probably eating better than many of us who don’t live near an organic farm). But please do take care!

  3. amy leclerc says:

    Hang in there! Deep breathing works magic! xo

  4. mary ann says:

    Reading what you go through makes me appreciate our local organic famers EVEN MORE!
    I can’t wait to see what you did with that beautiful plate of veggies – your dinners are awesome!

  5. Ellen Schramm says:

    hey you it’s ellen. I tracked you and our blog down to send this message. I’m just hoping you have recovered and are ready to get ‘er done at the market tomorrow. you left me alone with the guys on Thursday! see you at 6:30 am?!?! Also Melissa and I harvested buckets of strawberries today!!

Leave a Reply

